Love Letters to the Dead – Ava Dellaira

Love Letters to the Dead – Ava Dellaira

It has been way too long since the last time I wrote! Uni really got to me in the last few weeks. I didn’t stop the reading but I did stop the writing about the reading…. Anyway, onto my review!

love letters

Love Letters to the Dead is based on what I think is a brilliant premise. A girl writes letters to famous dead people to come to terms with her sister’s death, using their lives to explain her own.

But it failed. And miserably at that. Laurel, our main character, is not accessible or relatable. Her grief is told not shown and it just makes her feel annoying!

Stephen Chbosky, of ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’ fame, was Dellaira’s mentor during this book. And that is pretty obvious. While I haven’t read the classic coming-of-age novel itself, I have seen the movie (massive Emma Watson crush) and there were too many similarities to be ignored.

The main character is coming to terms with the death of someone close to them. Tick. The main character writes letters to dead people. Tick. The main character’s depressive characteristics can be linked back to sexual abuse. Tick.

I’m not a fan of reading about abuse, particularly when it comes as a complete shock without any subtextual inferences. This book had such a good rep on the tumblr blogs I follow that I was even more disappointed than had it just been a bad book.

I feel like this was a poor imitation of a famous story – ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’ – and it really isn’t something I would recommend. Particularly for those of us who read to escape the cruelties of the world in which we live.

Leave a Reply

