February Wrap-Up

February Wrap-Up

Only 17 books this month – I was suffering a bit of a reading hangover after January! I was trying to limit my book buying this month – it didn’t REALLY work, but I did borrow a lot of books! A friend lent me Bossypants, my sister lent me Matched and The Messenger and my grandmother let me borrow her friend’s copy of Hello From the Gillespies.

I read more Australian authors this month, which I was happy with – though the strong start faded when all the new fantasy books started coming out in the middle of the month! Damon Gameau’s The Sugar Book was excellent, and I also really adored The Messenger by Marcus Zusak (even if I couldn’t stop comparing it to The Book Thief!) and Debra Oswald’s UsefulHello From the Gillespies was a good read too, but more one of those books you pick up, read quickly and forget just as fast. I will keep up with the habit of reading Australian authors though – work is having a promotion on Australian authors in March, so it should be fairly easy to keep up! I really want to get through Colleen McCullough’s The Thorn Birds. It is interesting that, without noticing, most of my reviews this month were the ones by the Australian authors I read.

I attended an author event this month with Joe Abercrombie, which was fantastic! His books are so gritty and gruesome, and just great fun to read! I love author events and hope to attend quite a few this year. I was excited this month by the news that Sarah J Maas – author of the absolutely brilliant Throne of Glass series – will be coming to Australia in November!!!!! That will definitely be an event to attend!

The blog had its most popular day ever this month, on February 23rd. My blog post about That Sugar Book was viewed 395 times! It felt pretty amazing – unfortunately, I don’t post much about health books, and my fantasy and YA posts don’t do quite so well….. Might have to read and review more health and cooking if it does that well!

Let me know in the comments below what your favourite February reads were!

IMG_3097

Red Rising – Pierce Brown
The Fire Sermon – Francesca Haig (Reviewed here.)
Child 44 – Tom Rob Smith
Mage’s Blood – David Hair
Bossypants – Tina Fey
Side Effects May Vary – Julie Murphy
The Autumn Republic – Brian McClellan (Reviewed here.)
Best Served Cold – Joe Abercrombie (Meeting Joe Abercrombie here.)
That Sugar Book – Damon Gameau (Reviewed here.)
Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins
The Lady of the Rivers – Philippa Gregory
Matched – Ally Condie
The Messenger – Marcus Zusak (Reviewed here.)
Useful – Debra Oswald (Reviewed here.)
Hello From the Gillespies – Monica McInerney
Red Queen – Victoria Ayevard
The Bone Season – Samantha Shannon

One thought on “February Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

