March Wrap-Up

March Wrap-Up

Only 15 books this month – not too bad considering that I have now started back at university! I read quite a few proof copies which were left with us at work – I really loved We All Looked Up, which I reviewed, and also Lifespan of Starlight which looks like it will be an interesting trilogy. I plan on writing a review for it this month.

Only 7 blog posts…. Was really up to speed with my original goal at the beginning of the month but I have definitely let uni get in the way. Will try my hardest to do more this month!

I read quite a few short books. Who Moved My Cheese was a book my Dad has been badgering me to read for a while, an 80 page book explaining how we ought to deal with change. Jen Campbell’s Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops and its sequel were hysterically funny and took very little time to get through!

Absolutely adored A Darker Shade of Magic – I couldn’t get it through Australian bookshops though, only online which was a bit sad. It isn’t released here until June! I will be reviewing it eventually, but at the moment it has been loaned out to a friend so someone else can fangirl about it with me!

Again, I kept up with my goal to read two Australian authors a month. The books I read were both young adult proof copies – I really liked Lifespan of Starlight but wasn’t as much of a fan of The Pause. It was nice to read books set in Australia though, particularly the futuristic Lifespan of Starlight.

I have a new goal for the next two months. I am aiming to complete my reading of the Dymocks Top 101 List. I have already read 66 of the books listed, so only 35 to go! That means I will need to read 17.5 books each month. I’ll see how I go – might be a bit of a challenge as some of them are very hefty and exams are coming up!

Books missing from the photo below were either loaned to me or are out on loan themselves! I am getting much better about borrowing books rather than buying everything I want to read – much nicer on my bank account.

IMG_3128

Shadow Study – Maria Snyder
Church of Marvels – Leslie Parry (Reviewed here.)
The Pause – John Larkin (Australian author.)
A Darker Shade of Magic – V.E. Schwab
Who Moved My Cheese – Spencer Johnson
The Sin-Eater’s Daughter – Melinda Salisbury
Lifespan of Starlight – Thalia Kalkipsakis (Australian author.)
We All Looked Up – Tommy Wallach (Reviewed here.)
Bad Feminist – Roxane Gay
The Winner’s Curse – Marie Rutkoski
A Great and Terrible Beauty – Libby Bray
Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops – Jen Campbell
More Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops – Jen Campbell
Assassin’s Apprentice – Robin Hobb
The Last Time We Say Goodbye – Cynthia Hand

One thought on “March Wrap-Up

  1. Thanks Ms Addict. I just downloaded A Darker Shade of Magic, but it will have to wait until I finish The Buried Giant (so far fantastic) – try to add it to your list! Lee

Leave a Reply

