April Wrap-Up

April Wrap-Up

16 books – not a bad effort this month, particularly seeing as The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett took me FOREVER! I have made a lot of progress with my Dymocks 101 challenge as well – only two of this month’s books weren’t on that list (The Skull Throne and A Court of Thorns and Roses). I am up to 78 books from the list; only 23 to go! Might have to extend that challenge seeing as quite a few of them left are super hefty!

I am really enjoying the challenge – it has me reading outside my genre a little bit! There are a lot of first books though, which is a shame – I want to continue on with all the series but can’t just yet if I want to achieve my goal! I particularly loved The Knife of Never Letting Go, the first in the ‘Chaos Walking’ series. I wasn’t as much of a fan of Clockwork Angel, but I do have the other two books at home, so will probably read them eventually (they are technically on the 101 too, but I am sticking to first books at this point so I can hopefully finish this challenge a bit faster!)

I have three favourites from this month: Good Omens (so funny!), The Knife of Never Letting Go (weird but good – finishes on a suspenseful note though, which sucks!) and Wonder (a gorgeous story about being different). I am hoping to get around to a review on Wonder.

I haven’t written anywhere near as much as I had hoped to this month – I’ve been too preoccupied at this point with the reading! My most popular post was my lambasting of Girl Online, but I have had a lot of interest for last month’s post on The Church of Marvels too.

The only book not pictured below this month is A Court of Thorns and Roses, which I borrowed from a colleague. While I wrote a review, I am still not sure whether I liked it or not, and plan to edit my review a little. Do you ever change your mind about a book when you have had time to think about it? How do you feel about bloggers editing their posts? Let me know in the comments below!


Wonder – R.J Palacio
The Knife of Never Letting Go – Patrick Ness
Skulduggery Pleasant – Derek Landy
Skulduggery Pleasant: Playing with Fire – Derek Landy
The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky
Bitter Greens – Kate Forsyth (Australian author.)
Good Omens – Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman (Reviewed here.)
Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll
The Pillars of the Earth – Ken Follett
Clockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare
Girl Online – Zoe Sugg (Reviewed here.)
Jasper Jones – Craig Silvey (Australian author.)
A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas (Reviewed here.)
The Skull Throne – Peter V. Brett
The Happiest Refugee – Anh Do (Australian author.)
A Fortunate Life – A.B Facey (Australian author.) (Reviewed here.)

Leave a Reply

