Sydney Writer’s Festival Part 2 – TeenCon

Sydney Writer’s Festival Part 2 – TeenCon

I was incredibly fortunate to get one of the much-coveted spots for the inaugural TeenCon event – I was just thrilled at the prospect of meeting fellow YA fanatics but was particularly impressed by my book haul!

IMG_3248 copy (1)

I had quite a long wait between events which I filled by interviewing and getting to know Shaheen from Speculating on SpecFic. I am writing an article on genre shaming in YA for my university studies and Shaheen counts as an authority on the YA community in Australia because of her fantastic work with Twitter #OzYAChat every fortnight – check it out; it is AMAZING and super informative – I get so many good YA suggestions each time! And you make lots of Twitter friends who you then get to meet at marvellous events such as TeenCon!

Before the event started, Shaheen and I accidentally snuck into the Green Room where she introduced me to PenguinTeen’s Felicity (and her awesome social media headband) and HarperCollins YA’s Manda. Both are absolutely lovely! I’m so glad I got to meet so many wonderful people!

My photos from the event itself were all very blurry…… So now is the time for me to use my brilliant descriptive powers! We were treated first up to a panel of four book reviewers. It was great to hear from Booktuber Caz from The Little Book Owl – she was totally engaging and a brilliant presenter! I already followed Alison from Read Around the Rosie and it was so cute to see her and Tilly from Tilly and her Books fangirling over each other during the panel! Kat from Cuddlebuggery Book Blog was also gorgeous! It has inspired me to try out Instagram and Tumblr a little more and to watch some more Booktubers because they are awesome!

My favourite part of the panel was when the publishers each had thirty seconds to pitch their Read Now and Read Later books for 2015.

READ NOW:

Penguin Teen Australia: Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
Walker Books Australia: Spark by Rachael Craw
Random House Australia: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella
Simon and Schuster Australia: We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach (Reviewed here.)
Bloomsbury Sydney: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (Reviewed here.)
Allen and Unwin: The Guy, The Girl, The Artist and his Ex by Gabrielle Williams
HarperCollins Australia: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray
Scholastic Australia: The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury
Text Publishing: Shadows by Paula Weston
Hachette Australia: Red Queen  by Victoria Aveyard
Hardie Grant Egmont: Lifespan of Starlight by Thalia Kalkipsakis (Reviewed here.)

Of these, Spark and Finding Audrey are already on my to be read pile! I definitely want to read A Thousand Pieces of You – looks and sounds highly intriguing! Still not sure about Simon and the Homo Sapiens Agenda but I will probably give it a try! I adored The Sin Eater’s Daughter– have been meaning to post a blog about that one; will have to snap to it! I have also read Red Queen which I quite enjoyed – not as good as some YA fantasy but still highly entertaining!

READ LATER:

Penguin Teen Australia: Winter by Marissa Meyer
Walker Books Australia: The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
Random House Australia: Risk by Fleur Ferris
Simon and Schuster Australia: Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick
Bloomsbury Sydney: Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas
Allen and Unwin: Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan and Deborah Biancotti
HarperCollins Australia: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes
Scholastic Australia: George by Alex Gino
Text Publishing: Adrift by Paul Griffin
Hachette Australia: Asking For It by Louise O’Neill
Hardie Grant Egmont: Bro

I CANNOT WAIT FOR WINTER!!! I need it in my life now! I want to read the rest of Patrick Ness’ Chaos Walking trilogy – I read The Knife of Never Letting Go and am totally and utterly in love! – before I read his newest one, so I best get a move on! I got an extract of Risk in my goodie bag so that should be interesting. I recently read Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush Hush and it wasn’t my cup of tea so I’ll be waiting for reviews on her new one before digging in…. Because You’ll Never Meet Me sounds absolutely epic, as does The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly, which I have been coveting since January! Will also need to get my hands on Zeroes – I loved Scott Westerfield’s Uglies series! Asking For It sounds a bit controversial but also very interesting so I’ll have to see how that goes!

There was also an incredibly funny book boyfriend battle – Dmitri from the Vampire Academy series won, beating my personal favourites – Throne of Glass‘ Chaol and Arin from Winner’s Curse. The sledging in the final round was definitely a high point!

We then picked up our goodie bags and headed home – but the day was not over yet! I met Shaheen again on the train, along with Pavan from Keep It Fictional, where we did a little bit of book-swapping! I got to share the love of We All Looked Up by passing on the copy I was given!

Here is a picture of the goodies which made me so joyous:

IMG_3262

I have already read The Selection (and reviewed it here) but only on eBook so am absolutely thrilled to have a physical copy! And a friend of mine has borrowed The Winner’s Curse so now I can stop bothering her about getting it back! Can’t wait to read Dumplin’ and Spark – both are on my to-read list! I have had some good reviews about The Astrologer’s Daughter too – it’ll be great to get back into YA after my Dymocks 101 challenge!

TeenCon was absolutely amazing and I seriously hope I get the chance to go again next year! In fact, I really want to volunteer at the Writer’s Festival – it all looked like so much fun!

4 thoughts on “Sydney Writer’s Festival Part 2 – TeenCon

      1. Not a worry! 😃 It was part of the Sydney Writer’s Festival at Walsh Bay! In terms of knowing when events are happening, I recommend following publishers on Twitter and Facebook – they always let you know what is going on! Also, their websites often have an events page!

Leave a Reply

