May Wrap-Up

May Wrap-Up

What started out as a slow month got better towards the end! 17 books this month – the Dymocks101 challenge I set myself meant that I read some excellent crime; finally got around to The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and absolutely loved I Am Pilgrim. Another notable book this month was Seraphina– not on the list but a great young adult fantasy all the same! I was also surprised at how addicted I got to the erotica I read –

While the reading went well, the blogging didn’t….. I only posted one review this month, and three other posts – one about the struggle when it comes to reading classics, and two about the great fun I had at the Sydney Writer’s Festival – at Anthony Horowitz and at TeenCon2015. It was great to get out to a book-related event; I will have to do a few more in the future!

Back in March, I set myself the challenge to finish off the Dymocks Top 101 list by the end of May. While I didn’t quite make it – was very optimistic about my reading speed there – I only have eight to go now! Unfortunately they are all the big ones (Les Miserables, The Bible, Shantaram, The Count of Monte Cristo, Gone with the Wind, A Fine Balance, The Stand and The Grapes of Wrath). I will be taking some of them on holidays with me in July! I still want to finish these eight books by the end of the year, but at the moment I am looking forward to some more young adult reading!

HAPPY READING!

IMG_3276

Beautiful Disaster – Jamie McGuire (Reviewed here.)
White Tiger – Aravind Adiga
The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo – Stieg Larsson
Outlander – Diana Gabaldon
Fifty Shades of Grey – E L James
Fallen – Lauren Kate
When There’s Nowhere Else to Run – Murray Middleton (Australian author.)
The Heir – Kiera Cass
Wolf Hall – Hilary Mandel
Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
Catch-22 – Joseph Heller
Hush, Hush – Becca Fitzpatrick
The Road – Cormac McCarthy
The Passage – Justin Cronin
The Princess Bride – William Goldman
Seraphina – Rachel Hartman
I Am Pilgrim – Terry Hayes

One thought on “May Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

