Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read – Top Ten Tuesday

The Top Ten Tuesday feature is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

toptentuesday

Until recently, this topic – The Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read – would have been incredibly easy to answer. However, since I have made such an effort to read the Dymocks 101, I have read quite a lot of the hyped reads I hadn’t before (such as Fifty Shades of Grey and The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo). I also tend to purchase hyped books pretty quickly, such as Lena Dunham’s Not That Kind of Girl or Paula Hawkins’ Girl on the Train (both of which I disliked!). Then again, it is also difficult to define the term ‘hype’ because what I see coming out and get excited about could be very different to someone else’s!

1. The Host – Stephanie Meyer

There was a lot of hype around this one when it came out, just after the Twilight phenomenon. However, I couldn’t bring myself to go back to Meyer’s writing, nor was I particularly interested in an alien story. I never had any interest in seeing the film either! I was actually very glad this was taken off the Dymocks 101 this year, so that I was under no obligation to read it.

host_poster2 rs_634x959-150325070610-_634-Harper-Lee-book-GoSetaWatchman

2. Go Set a Watchman – Harper Lee

I know this isn’t out yet, so it probably doesn’t count, but I am not sure if I will read this. Not only do I hate when books only come out in hardcover, but the whole situation seems very fishy. I don’t know the full story but it concerns me that Lee’s sister, who has always looked after her affairs, dies and suddenly there is a new book? It feels a little unethical to profit off a reclusive old lady who may have been manipulated into giving up her story.

3. The Buried Giant – Kazuo Ishiguro

While this story looks incredibly interesting, I haven’t read any of Ishiguro’s work, and while I’d like to try his work someday, there is so much other stuff I want to read first!

download (3) images (1)

4. I’ll Give You the Sun – Jandy Nelson

I haven’t read this one, although I have heard a lot about it! It is on my list, but the Australian cover irks me a bit…..

5. Dorothy Must Die – Danielle Paige

I love the Wizard of Oz and I really want to read this twisted version, however the Australian paperback cover is really terrible quality and bends upwards! And I can’t find it as an eBook (which I don’t like reading anyway, but prefer to spending money on a book that doesn’t look new!)

download (4) images (2)

6. Still Alice – Lisa Genova

When the movie came out, I promised myself I would read the book because everyone was raving about it. Yet here we are more than six months later and I still haven’t followed through there!

7. Station Eleven – Emily St. John Mandel

This has been sitting in my TBR pile since the beginning of the year. I heard about it long before it won the Arthur C. Clarke Award and it really grabbed my interest.

StationelevenUKHC-195x300 download (5)

8. These Broken Stars – Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Sounds cool and I saw a whole heap of photos when the dress from the cover went on a bookshop tour, but it just hasn’t reached the top of my ‘to-purchase’ list yet. Maybe soon.

9. Snow Like Ashes – Sara Raasch

I don’t even know anything about this book other than its cover, but I have seen soooo many pictures! Sometimes I tend to purchase books I have seen around a lot, even if I don’t know what lies inside. That is what will probably happen here, but I still haven’t seen it in shops.

download (7) download (6)

10. Finding Audrey – Sophie Kinsella

I have had this book sitting on my TBR pile since before it came out. (The bookshop I work in got an advanced reading copy.) But I STILL haven’t picked it up. I saw a few bad reviews after the initial hype and wasn’t sure about it. I still want to read it, but it might be a while away….

What hyped books have you never read? Do you plan on reading them?

Leave a Reply

