Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want to Read – Top Ten Tuesday

Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want to Read – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish!

toptentuesday

1. Bitter Greens – Kate Forsyth

This book is a brilliant retelling of the Rapunzel story, focusing on three different women and their lives. Wonderfully well-written and an amazing journey. I can’t wait to get my hands on her new book – The Beast’s Garden – a retelling of Beauty and the Beast!

download cind

2. Cinder – Marissa Meyer

A sci-fi retelling of the Cinderella story, this series is completely and utterly addictive. It intertwines other fairytales too – Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and Snow White. I loved how the fairytale acted as a link to our world as Meyer transports us so completely and utterly into her fantasy world where people live on the moon and have weird (but awesome) powers.

3. The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly – Stephanie Oakes

This story is loosely based on the little-known Grimm fairytale The Handless Maiden. The links weren’t as obvious as I expected from other people’s reviews but they are there. There is also a reference to the original Grimm telling of Snow White, where the evil queen had to dance around in red-hot shoes.

minnow download (4)

4. Dorothy Must Die – Danielle Paige

I haven’t read this one yet, but really want to! In this retelling, Dorothy is evil – I imagine a sort of Wicked for young adults.

5. The Sleeper and the Spindle – Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell

Another one I haven’t read yet, but have been coveting since it appeared in bookshops! The illustrations are absolutely divine – picture books for adults are an awesome idea! Plus, it looks like the main characters are both female (no idea if this is ACTUALLY the case) which is fantastic in a retelling for the modern age!

download (1)mothers grimm

6. Mothers Grimm – Danielle Wood

I really loved this collection of short stories, each depicting a fairytale mother figure in modern times. The links were a little loose at times, but the premise was awesome.

7. The Goose Girl – Shannon Hale

I read this series a really long time ago now, but it has always stuck with me. Based on the fairytale of the same name, the female characters are strong and the affiliation some have with the elements is fantastic!

download (2) download (3)

8. Shalott – Felicity Pulman

I absolutely adored this series at school – I was devastated recently to learn that it is out of print…. I’ll have to hang around library sales to try and get my own copies! Teenagers are zapped back in time to the court of King Arthur – it references Tennyson’s poem The Lady of Shalott quite a bit and is completely brilliant!

throne of glass download (4)

9. Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas

I really didn’t see it as such, but a few reviewers have noted that this is a Cinderella retelling. Though I don’t see that many fairytale links, it is one my favourite stories anyway, so I will include it! Maas’ new book, A Court of Thorns and Roses is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. but it wasn’t one of my favourites…..

10. Beauty Sleep – Cameron Dokey

I remember reading an amazing series (not all of them though!) while I was at school, all based on fairytales. I am pretty sure (from my memory of the covers) that this is the right one! Doing this Top Ten has encouraged me to search for and reread these stories!

This was a lot harder than I expected it to be! I thought I read a lot of fairytale retellings but apparently not! It just means I need suggestions! Please comment below with some of your favourites!

What are some of your favourite fairytale retellings? Do you agree with any of mine? Are there any you like much more?

4 thoughts on “Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want to Read – Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marrillier is my absolute favorite! Its a bit of a ‘seven dancing sisters’ and ‘princess and the frog’ inspired story! I just remember it grabbing you from the beginning and setting up an amaaaazing atmosphere

  2. Ohh Dorothy Must Die is FABULOUS. And utterly creepy…and the sequel is just as good. I’m basically in awe of the pure imagination and creativity in there. :O Also Throne of Glass is one of my all-time favourites! 😀

Leave a Reply

