A Thousand Pieces of You – Claudia Gray

A Thousand Pieces of You – Claudia Gray

Title: A Thousand Pieces of You
Author: Claudia Gray
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: 20th October 2014
Pages: 357
Rating: 5/5 stars

a-thousand-pieces-of-you

A THOUSAND LIVES.
A THOUSAND POSSIBLITIES.
ONE FATE.

As the daughter of two brilliant physicists, Marguerite Caine grew up surrounded by wild scientific theories, always encouraged to imagine the improbable or even the impossible. But when her father is murdered, Marguerite’s life is turned upside down. All the evidence points to one person – Paul, her parents’ handsome, enigmatic protégé. Before the law can touch him, though, Paul uses Marguerite’s mother’s latest invention – a device called the Firebird, which allows people to leap into alternate dimensions – to escape.

With the help of another physics student, Theo, Marguerite chases Paul through various dimensions, determined to avenge her father. Her parents theorised that people who have met in one reality will be likely to meet in another … that key moments will happen over and over, in different ways. But when Marguerite leaps into each new world, she meets another version of Paul that has her doubting his guilt and questioning her heart. Before long she realises that what happened to her father may be more complex, and more sinister, than she ever dreamed.

Marguerite is swept into an epic love affair that feels both dangerous and inevitable in New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray’s glorious new trilogy.

I can’t believe I waited so long to try this series – to be honest, I’m not a big fan of the cover art (unpopular opinion alert!) and I am ashamed to admit that I judged it by its cover. This book is just another reminder why one should never ever make that mistake!

Every time I find a book like this, I struggle to review it. I absolutely adored it, yet I’m not entirely sure why. I liked that the scientific theory was actually pretty watertight – the more believable the science is, the happier I am (because it could conceivably be real)!

Recently I really enjoyed Lifespan of Starlight (time travel) and saw great potential in Spark (superhuman genetics), both books based in the real (or slightly futuristic) world with ‘scientific’ basis for their characters’ skills and abilities. But A Thousand Pieces of You blew them both out of the water!!!!

Gray did an awesome job depicting Marguerite’s other lives, and the different events which led to her existence. Some world are futuristic, some are stuck in the past, but all are created vividly. In one of the parallel universes, she exists as part of the Russian royal family – I particularly loved that part, being a die-hard Anastasia fan from way back.

Those of you who read my blog regularly will know that I am not the biggest fan of romance. I am not anti-romance, but it isn’t generally the part of the story I fall in love with. Well, that was completely not the case here – I fell head over heels for the romantic element! I won’t give away details because part of the joy is discovering it as Marguerite does.

And there is the MOST AMAZING TWIST at the end – it is too fantastic for words and I just did not see it coming at all! This whole story is pure imaginative genius!

While it would have worked well as a standalone, I was thrilled to discover that the book is in fact part of a trilogy, with the second book coming out in November! Can’t wait to see what else Claudia Gray has in store for us, in this brilliant book about inter-dimensional travel.

Do you like fiction with a scientific basis in the real world? Does it need to be watertight for you to suspend belief?

Leave a Reply

