Auto-Buy Authors – Top Ten Tuesday

Auto-Buy Authors – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish!

toptentuesday

This was a tricky one to do so soon after Authors I’ve Read the Most From – there is quite a lot of crossover because some of my auto-buy authors are similarly the most prolific! And if they don’t have a huge catalogue of books, it’s the authors of series I’m waiting for closure on!

1. Sarah J. Maas

I wasn’t a massive fan of A Court of Thorns and Roses, but her Throne of Glass series is absolutely epic; so good in fact that I will read the next ACOTAR just to fill in my time between Caelena Sardothien’s wonderful story! Watch out for my Queen of Shadows review (the 4th book in the series!) – the book was total brilliance!

download download (1)

2. Brandon Sanderson

A ridiculously prolific author, and also one of the best. My personal favourite series is The Stormlight Archive, but all Sanderson’s books are awesome!

3. Matthew Reilly

Action-packed with amazingly complex characters – Reilly’s books are too good! Only a slight problem – they are now so popular that they come out in hardcover first and nothing matches…. Won’t stop me buying them straightaway though!

download cind

4. Marissa Meyer

The Cinder series is soooooo good – a science fiction fairytale mash-up! Winter is coming out in November and I am salivating in anticipation!

5. Patrick Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind and its sequel A Wise Man’s Fear are some of the most beautiful pieces of fiction I have ever read. Rothfuss’ novella The Slow Regard of Silent Things was a bit strange, but still gorgeous, and now I just have to wait for the final instalment along with the rest of the population! Hurry up!

name o wind download (2)

6. Kiera Cass

The Selection is a must-read for everyone – a weird mash-up between a dystopian world and reality television show The Bachelor. Sounds weird, but works so, so well! She has a new series out – The Heir– the sequel to which I am waiting for with bated breath. I can’t wait to see what else she comes up with, outside this world.

7. Amy Ewing

Still desperately waiting for the follow-up to The Jewel which was one of my all-time favourite stories of last year. A really cool dystopia, centring on young girls forced to be surrogates for the wealthy. Finishes on a massive cliffhanger but I will FINALLY find out what happens in November!

download fangirl

8. Rainbow Rowell

Rainbow Rowell is one of those authors who appeals to everyone. Eleanor and Park is too cute for words, and Fangirl is THE book which speaks to my inner nerd (I, like Cath, have been known to write fanfiction). I read Attachments recently (cute, if a little weird) and have Landline on the never-ending TBR pile.

9. Melina Marchetta

I own all of her books, even if I haven’t yet read The Lumatere Chronicles. My all-time favourite is On the Jellicoe Road, very very closely followed by Saving Francesca.

download download (3)

10. JK Rowling

I am still secretly praying for a new Harry Potter….. But in the meantime I have her new mystery series written under the name Robert Galbraith – they are really good! I was pleasantly surprised after my upsetting experience with A Casual Vacancy.

Leave a Reply

