Characters I Just Didn’t Click With – Top Ten Tuesday

Characters I Just Didn’t Click With – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish!

toptentuesday

This was a very difficult topic! Normally I pick up books based on the characters, and if I happen to dislike the character, I tend to forget the book very quickly! Most of these are from this year for that reason!

1. Jude (and Noah) from I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I just couldn’t connect with either of the main characters in this book – I think all of their experiences just didn’t correlate with ANY of mine and I couldn’t relate…. Beautifully written, but just not characters I would want to be friends with.

1426136992667 download (2)

2. Rachel from The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

I know that to a certain extent it was a stylistic technique to make the character unlikeable, but it seriously affected my enjoyment of the book – I disliked it immensely!

3. Sierra from Risk by Fleur Ferris

I really connected with Taylor – being the sensible Susan for the first part of the book – but I could not for the life of me understand how her best friend could possibly be Sierra, and why she would keep defending her! While I could feel pain for her situation, I just couldn’t bring myself to LIKE her.

download (1) Alcatraz_vs_evil_librarians_book_cover

4. Alcatraz from Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians by Brandon Sanderson

This is the only Sanderson book in which I haven’t managed to find a single character to connect with. I read it a while ago and just found it plain WEIRD! And Alcatraz didn’t help – he came off as a bit stupid….

5. Cadence from We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

A girl from a super-rich family with their own private island, Cadence was ridiculously self-absorbed. Although the family had been affected by a massive tragedy and she was coming to terms with that, I just couldn’t connect with Cadence at all. Her life was so magical, that there wasn’t much I had in common with her, and I couldn’t relate with what seemed to be, for most of the book, first-world problems.

download download (2)

6. Clary from The Mortal Instruments  by Cassandra Clare

Clary was irritating. She is probably not the kind of girl I would EVER hang out with in real life, plus the whole creepy incest thing was a bit too much for me! Come on Clary, keep it in your pants if you think there is a slight possibility he could be your BROTHER!!!! Ewwww! I only really kept reading (well, the first three books) because I loved Isabelle so much. Oh, and Simon.

7. Zoe from Me Being Me is Exactly as Insane as You Being You by Todd Hasak-Lowy

The main female character – well, the girl the main character falls in love with – was more a big pest than a proper character. Zoe was a manic pixie dream girl who keeps disappearing and she annoyed the hell out of me. In turn, that made me annoyed with Darren, the main character, because why the hell did he fall for her?

9781471124594 download (3)

8. Bella from Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

This one should be obvious. What kind of girl thinks that someone is a vampire, and then confronts him about it? RUN AWAY SCREAMING – that is the obvious response! Plus, she is also totally vapid and way too obsessed with the tall, dark and handsome trope. And yet, she ends up with Edward who really doesn’t fit the ‘dark’ criteria.

9. Evie from Spark by Rachael Craw

While I liked the book as a whole, Evie was super annoying! Way too preoccupied with appearance, and a total obsession with her best friend (even before she was tasked with saving her life), Evie just didn’t do it for me as the main character in what was otherwise a series with an awesome concept.

download (1) download (4)

10. Aza from Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

Aza, right from the beginning of the book, knew that she was dying. And it made her sarcastic and a little bit mean to those around her. She eventually ends up in a world above the clouds and she continues being that touch insensitive to others. I just couldn’t click with her…. Her best friend Jason, whose voice we also hear, was so much nicer to read about!

Which characters just didn’t do it for you? Why didn’t you like them? Do you, like me, need to have SOMETHING in common with a character? Or is there one tiny trait which can destroy any connection you might possibly have?

One thought on “Characters I Just Didn’t Click With – Top Ten Tuesday

  1. OMGGG YES AND YES. I totally agree with Spark, too. It didn’t make it to my list, but I always felt Evie was seriously caught up in physical beauty. Like that was her returning #1 thought. Seriously?! Maybe save your friend from bad guys for once?!? gah. -_- And Aza really bugged me the way she was so rude/mean to other people because they couldn’t do anything about it because she was sick. Why would you be like that?!? Don’t you want to be nice while you have such a short life? AGH. So Aza and me were a big no-no too. XD
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

Leave a Reply

