Ten Books on My Spring TBR – Top Ten Tuesday

Ten Books on My Spring TBR – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

toptentuesday

I had to change the topic to Spring rather than Fall, being a southern-hemisphere reader! And seeing as I discussed the books I was most excited about reading last week (as in, the new ones coming out in Spring!), this week I’ll be prioritising my enormous TBR pile. I made a deal with myself that I wouldn’t buy more books until my pile was gone and I failed miserably. But Spring is still going to be about bringing it down to a manageable size!

1. Ink and Bone – Rachel Caine

It is a book about a world in which the Library of Alexandria was never burned and knowledge means everything – there is some Latin and books are LITERALLY the most important things in the world. Maybe cheating, in that I have already started this – but it is SOOOOOOOO good!

9780749017224 POF UK

2. Prince of Fools – Mark Lawrence

I LOVED Lawrence’s creepy Prince of Thorns series, and apparently this is just as good with the violence turned down a notch. I really need to get onto this – it’s been on the pile for almost a year, and I already have the second one – why did I buy the second before beginning the first?!

3. These Broken Stars – Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

It’s a space romance. The romance description tends to annoy me (though I think I’m getting better at it…. See Emmy & Oliver and A Thousand Pieces of You), but the setting and world-building looks really good. Plus, the third one is coming out soon and I want to be on top of the series by then!

TBS-Aussie-Cover 9780857988706

4. Dragonclaw – Kate Forsyth

I bought this book when I met the wonderful Kate Forsyth in August, but I STILL haven’t read it….. I LOVED her fairytale retellings, Bitter Greens and The Beast’s Garden and can’t wait to get into her early fantasy work!

5. The Emperor’s Blades – Brian Staveley

I honestly know very little about this book but I have had so many recommendations I had to buy it! Dark fantasy is a failsafe option for me, and this looks like it will be AMAZING!!!

the-emperors-blades-pb-1 The Invasion of the Tearling UK

6. The Invasion of the Tearling – Erika Johansen

Had to buy this in trade paperback so that it matched my Queen of the Tearling. Hoping that when I get started on this one, I’ll remember the important details from the first!

7. Trylle – Amanda Hocking

My sister really wants her book back – I think she is trying to ensure I don’t pinch it! I have read the first one, though I think it’ll need a reread. Lucky I have the three books in a single collection!

download (1) 9780732299224

8. Secret Keeping for Beginners – Maggie Alderson

I bought this because it was one of the top new releases for August; should probably read it before its timeliness factor runs out! I don’t know what to expect, and I don’t read much contemporary adult fiction, so I’m hoping it’ll be a hit!

9. The Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas

Having just finished Les Miserables, I’m not as terrified of the big classics as I was! Plus, I need to get a move on with my Dymocks101 challenge – the end of the year is fast approaching!

the-count-of-monte-cristo download (13)

10. The Way of Shadows – Brent Weeks

This has been on the pile for way too long. I originally purchased it because I’ve heard his style is similar to that of Brandon Sanderson. It shouldn’t take me long if that’s the case – I devour Sanderson’s books!

What books do you plan to read this spring? What books have been on your TBR pile for too long?

Leave a Reply

