Ten Books to Read If You Like….. – Top Ten Tuesday

Ten Books to Read If You Like….. – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish!

toptentuesday

I would have absolutely no idea what book to use, if I had to pick ten choices for a single book! Thus, I am choosing ten of my favourite books and giving slightly off-the-radar suggestions for those who enjoy them!

1. If you like Harry Potter by J.K Rowling, try Deltora Quest by Emily Rodda

I got incredibly excited about Deltora Quest again recently, because Rodda released a new series in the same world! Therefore, I am doing a re-read and they are JUST AS GOOD as I remember them! Although technically children’s books, anyone can and will enjoy them! (Haven’t actually read Star of Deltora yet but fully intending too very soon!)

download the-forests-of-silence

2. If you like Eragon by Christopher Paolini, try Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

Seraphina is AWESOME! Dragons who can turn into people! Also, music-lovers will love the musical theory and intense descriptions of performances. Seraphina is a brilliant main character, and the world in which the story is set is just amazing. Dragons and humans are trying to broker a peace, but some of the old-fashioned dragons don’t believe that this is a good idea.

Eragon_book_cover 9780552566001-1-edition.default.original-1

3. If you like Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, try Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll

I adored Gone Girl – that psychological thriller screwed with my head, and perfectly encapsulated the idea of The Cool Girl. Ani FaNelli from Luckiest Girl Alive is one of those Cool Girls, trying desperately to escape her mysterious past. I have tried all the books which claim to be for fans of Gone Girl, and have hated them, so much so that I was almost tempted to give up on crime altogether! But then I read this and my faith in the genre has been restored!

isbn9780753827666 download

4. If you like Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta, try Laurinda by Alice Pung

Or even just if you like ANYTHING by Melina Marchetta. Laurinda is total perfection, and is just a fantastic interpretation of the child migrant experience at a pretentious private school. I will fangirl about this book until the day I die!

looking-for-alibrandi download (2)

5. If you like Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, try Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

Both have fantastic, deadly female main characters plus some cute man candy! So many great fight scenes! Plus, a touch of magic in both which is always a good thing!

throne of glass download

6. If you like Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, try Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Normally I don’t like gushy romance (and admittedly in Anna it was a bit overdone….) but in Simon, this works so well that it makes me want to cry and hug the book like a crazy person. Read it!

8cfb66e81f5fdad540530e2f430c5dad download (1)

7. If you like The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, try The Martian by Andy Weir

Or vice versa! Ok, so one is young adult fantasy, and the other is sci-fi, but I think they are just similar enough! Both have fantastic main characters, though I am slightly more in love with our Martian, Mark Watney! Both are set in space, and both are brilliant!

51NcMaqTCsL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_ 108567414

8. If you like The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, try Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider

While both look at teenagers and illness, Extraordinary Means is set in a sanatorium for teenagers with tuberculosis. Intriguing and well-researched, it’s a nice addition to the genre.

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars ImageHandler

9. If you like The Selection by Kiera Cass, try The Jewel by Amy Ewing

I know I have probably brought up The Jewel too many times by now, but it isn’t too many until everyone has read it and can fangirl about it with me!!!!! Buying the second book in the series tomorrow and I CAN’T WAIT!

download (2) download

10. If you like Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson, try Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan

Both are epic fantasies set in the middle of war. Both authors are absolute masters of character and plot. If you haven’t read either of this books, try them both!

way_of_kings_uk 15790883

What books do you ALWAYS recommend? Would you disagree with any of these suggestions?

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Ten Books to Read If You Like….. – Top Ten Tuesday

      1. It’s so gorgeous~ I’ve read The Wise Man’s Fear, but not the Silent Regard of Slow Things, which is totally on my list, because more Auri is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s