September Wrap-Up

September Wrap-Up

31 books in 30 days! I’ve been trying to make that kind of target all year! (Though this month, I did read the eight Deltora Quest books, which are each only 120 pages; though I suppose they can be balanced by Les Misérables!) I’ve met a few reading goals and my TBR pile is finally starting to look manageable. I have even read four and a half books from my top ten list for spring! I’m halfway through The Count of Monte Cristo, so soon I’ll have another one ticked off my Dymocks101 list! So close – only four to go from there! I did try to take more photos on Instagram of all my pretty books, but it fell through halfway through the month! Oops!

Sixteen blog posts made a slight improvement from last month. I tried to add an extra blog post each week – Friday actually seems to be a better day than Sunday! But I do need to be a little bit more organised! My most popular posts were Queen of Shadows and Top Ten Characters I Just Didn’t Click With

Definite highlights included my reread of the Deltora Quest series, finally completing Les Misérables, and attending the Zeroes book launch at Kinokuniya! I have another book launch scheduled for this month – so excited to see all my book buddies again! I also LOVED Uprooted and Prince of Fools – so excited to be getting back into the fantasy!

A lowlight was The Light That Gets Lost – it felt very much like Lord of the Flies by William Golding, a book I detested at school! I was also a bit disappointed with Because You’ll Never Meet Me– I had expected great things and just didn’t feel it….

IMG_4264

Uprooted – Naomi Novik
The Anti Cool Girl – Rosie Waterland (Australian author.)
Les Misérables – Victor Hugo
Paper Planes – Alayne L. Webster (Australian author.)
Bird – Crystal Chan
Because You’ll Never Meet Me – Leah Thomas
Stray – Rachael Craw (Australian author.)
Rush Oh – Shirley Barrett (Australian author.)
Zeroes – Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan, Deborah Biancotti (Australian authors.)
These Broken Stars – Amie Kaufman, Meagan Spooner (Australian author.)
Pretty Baby – Mary Kubica
Prince of Fools – Mark Lawrence
Ink and Bone – Rachel Caine
The Next Together – Lauren James
Quiet – Susan Cain
Emmy & Oliver – Robin Benway
House of Silk – Anthony Horowitz
Shadow Scale – Rachel Hartman
Breakthrough – Jack Andraka
Secret-Keeping for Beginners – Maggie Alderson
Luckiest Girl Alive – Jessica Knoll
Room – Emma Donoghue
The Light That Gets Lost – Natasha Carthew
The Forests of Silence – Emily Rodda (Australian author.)
The Lake of Tears – Emily Rodda (Australian author.)
City of the Rats – Emily Rodda (Australian author.)
The Shifting Sands – Emily Rodda (Australian author.)
Dread Mountain – Emily Rodda (Australian author.)
The Maze of the Beast – Emily Rodda (Australian author.)
The Valley of the Lost – Emily Rodda (Australian author.)
Return to Del – Emily Rodda (Australian author.)

What did you read this September? What were the biggest highlights?

Leave a Reply

