Ten Bookish Habits I Should Quit – Top Ten Tuesday

Ten Bookish Habits I Should Quit – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish!

toptentuesday

I have a lot of terrible habits when it comes to reading – and it’s mostly related to book-buying! I spend way too much money on books! Below are the 10 bookish habits I want to quit (keep pestering me to see how well I’m sticking to them!)

1. Reading only the first book in a series

This is only for series I enjoy. For example, I loved Patrick Ness’ The Knife of Never Letting Go, but still haven’t read the rest of the Chaos Walking trilogy…. Same goes for Robin Hobb’s Assassin’s Apprentice trilogy and The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson.

51NcMaqTCsL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_ download (2)

2. Buying books I’m unsure about

This mostly relates to the fact that I NEED TO JOIN A LIBRARY! I have too many books and struggle internally when trying to get rid of them (even if I don’t like them) because I spent so much money on them! This predominantly relates to the prize-winners, which I want to read but tend to dislike….

9781743319598 The_goldfinch_by_donna_tart

 3. Constantly checking page numbers left

I like knowing where I am, but I have spoiled things for myself accidentally too many times! Most recently with my current read, The White Rose (yes, the sequel to The Jewel is out and you must read it), where I discovered something WAAAAYY too early…. Oops… Also in super long books, which I should be dedicating the time to reading, not checking how much more reading I have to do….

51AI6Sl+duL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_ the-count-of-monte-cristo

4. Buying too many books

My TBR pile is much too big at the moment…. I can’t even bring myself to count it. I tried to implement a book-buying ban last month but it REALLY didn’t work…. Instead, I have piles for this month, piles for next month, and piles for December all set up…. Didn’t work for September though. Still trying to get to Dragonclaw from August (though it is the only one I didn’t read from my September pile!), and I only just finished Prince of Fools, which has been hanging around my room since September last year!!!

9780857988706 POF UK

5. Forcing myself to finish a book

This one I probably will never quit…. I have a massive problem with leaving things unfinished. Besides, if I didn’t force myself to finish books, I probably wouldn’t ever read a classic again….

thenameoftherose 41PYLOVlt2L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

6. Stop being so precious about how my books look

I know that keeping a book nice and pretty is the best, but sometimes I get too terrified to take a book with me for fear of damage (especially if it is big) or I get annoyed if the book gets damaged while I’m reading it. Hurting books is bad, but so is not letting anyone else touch them (precious, expensive editions are excepted…) – I’d like to share more without people being scared to read my books! My books generally still look so perfect when I finish reading them that I could return them to the bookshop – this would be a great idea, but I want bookshops to stay around forever and thus feel way too guilty….. I also hope that getting rid of this dreadful habit will mean I buy more second-hand books! My wallet will love me for that! My poor Razorhurst got injured before I read it – that teeny bend in the corner! Golden Boys was destroyed by someone else, but I REALLY want to read it, so I suppose I have to deal!

image1

7. Needing all my books to be the same size

Looking at Brandon Sanderson’s books on the shelves is going to kill me! Now that there is another Mistborn book coming out, the series will have one of five in trade…. I might cry…. It’s a toss-up between perfect shelves and reading the book NOW! We all know which will win….

image1

8. Reading only in paperback format

I really need to give audiobooks a try. And buy some things on my iPad (to save money….) The photo below is my current eBook collection – I buy the sale items, or the novellas which aren’t available as books!

IMG_4255

9. Believing the cover lines from other authors

This has led me into way too much trouble, especially in the crime genre. I really really really really need to start ignoring recommendations for fans of Gone Girl! See Pretty Baby and The Girl on the Train for my cringeworthy experiences….

download (2) ImageHandler

10. Ignoring old favourites

I recently reread the Deltora Quest series and remembered why it is so important to reread old favourites every so often! It was so enjoyable! Plus, having just received the beautiful illustrated version of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, more rereading will be happening!!! Go to my Instagram (@emmy9394) for what is sure to be a week filled with images from the book! They are absolutely DIVINE – not sure I’m ever letting this book leave my sight!

download (11) 9781408845646

Do you have any bad book-related habits you want to break? Can you empathise with any of mine?

Leave a Reply

