Ten Debut Authors I Need to Write Faster – Top Ten Tuesday

Ten Debut Authors I Need to Write Faster – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

toptentuesday

So this topic is a bit confusing to encapsulate in just a few titular words. These are the ten authors whose second books I desperately want to read. It’s quite a good mix this month between YA and adult!

1. Julie Murphy

So this is sort of cheating, because I have already read Julie Murphy’s second book. Dumplin’ deserves its place here though, because it is so much better than Murphy’s first book, Side Effects May Vary. If you haven’t yet read Dumplin’ do so right now! It’s about the wonderful Willowdean, a fat girl who is determined to show her community that she too can participate in their beauty pageant. My blog post was supposed to go up AGES ago, but I had so much trouble writing it because I just loved the book so much!

download download (1)

2. Becky Albertalli

Go and read Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda right now, so that you too understand the total devotion I have to the amazing Becky Albertalli. It is the cutest love story I think I have ever read – one of the few YA novels which I enjoyed for the romance and not the action! Adorable! Can’t wait to see what else she comes out with!

3. Lauren James

The Next Together is a really cool young adult historical fiction – I have struggled to find a non-magical YA history and therefore adored this book before even reading it! There is a mix with sci-fi, but Lauren has done such an amazing job and I need to know everything NOW PLEASE! Keep an eye out for a guest post from Lauren next week – she’s dropping in to talk about historical research!

23266378 816gr5kQlEL

4. Victoria Aveyard

I really loved Red Queen and am very much looking forward to the second one in the series, Glass Sword. It ended on a cliffhanger and I need to know what happens to all the characters! It was a massive plot twist that I should have seen coming but Victoria Aveyard has such a way with words she could make me believe ANYTHING!

5. Sabaa Tahir

An Ember in the Ashes was absolutely awesome – I loved all the Roman references which made their way into the book! The characters are just so evil/amazing. And I absolutely cannot wait for the second one, A Torch Against the Night. Please write fast!!!!!!

download (1) we-all-looked-up-9781471124556_hr

5. Tommy Wallach

Author of the fantabulous We All Looked Up. His characterisation was totally on point and I realised that I absolutely love stories about the breakdown of civilisation. My only complaint is that he talks about music a lot and even produced some songs to accompany the book – I wish I could enjoy them as I should but I am just really not a music person….

7. Amie Kaufman

So I feel a bit mean not including Meagan Spooner, because it was These Broken Stars which started me on this path, a book written by both authors! However, while I will continue with that series, I am most excited about Illuminae which Kaufman wrote with Jay Kristoff – I went to the launch and both authors were so nice! As soon as I finish my current read it’ll be Illuminae! Not least because it is the #OzYA Book of the Month!

23395680 108567414

8. Andy Weir

I don’t know if he is ever planning to write another book, but The Martian was honestly the best science fiction book I have ever read. (The movie is pretty good too!) His research was just impeccable and this reignited my childhood fantasy of visiting space! Plus he reinforced that science fiction is a GREAT genre and I shouldn’t always just stick to fantasy.

9. Virginia Macgregor

I just finished the gorgeous What Milo Saw, a book about a little boy who sees the world through a pin hole. He might see less of the world, but he notices so much more. Virginia Macgregor perfectly encapsulated the messiness of relationships and got all the voices perfect. I cannot wait to read more – apparently she has a new one coming out next year!

What-Milo-Saw download (2)

10. James Hannah

The A-Z of You and Me is still one of my absolute favourite books despite the fact I read it back in June. His prose was so divine and the whole concept just brilliant. I want so many more books from this author! I could read and reread his words for months.

Which debuts did you love this year? Can you recommend any?

Leave a Reply

