October Wrap-Up

October Wrap-Up

20 books and 12 blog posts – not a bad effort considering I’ve actually had to get some uni work done. While it hasn’t been the best month for actual reading, I have been getting a lot done behind the scenes. I have just finished a course in Online Media, so be prepared for some changes to the WordPress page! I have been talking to publishers a bit more, resulting in being part of a blog tour for Lauren James’ The Next Together – keep an eye out for her guest post about her research routine, coming up soon!

My most popular blog post this month was the Illustrated Harry Potter – seeing as it is the most beautiful book I have ever laid eyes on, I’m not at all surprised! This was followed by the September Wrap-Up post. I also had a surprising resurgence in visits to The Happiness ProjectFacebook is still my most popular referral site, so thank you to all my friends for continuing to click through!

I am also going to be a published journalist next month! I’ve been at Good Reading Magazine since the middle of October and I cannot wait to see my name in print! Super exciting! Though the best part of working there has been working with other passionate book people on a regular basis!

Highlights from the month included Amy Ewing’s The White Rose and The Lake House by Kate Morton. I was pleasantly surprised to enjoy Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick after seriously disliking Hush, Hush, also by her. I also loved The Bone Labyrinth by James Rollins – it reminded me very strongly of a Matthew Reilly novel! I did not enjoy Thicker than Water in the slightest, and was disappointed by Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe – I don’t know what I was expecting, but it wasn’t that.

I once again surpassed my Australian author quota without consciously realising – it makes me happy that most of the books I want to read are Australian! I have a whole heap of blog posts scheduled for next month – couldn’t post too far before the publication date! Hopefully now that uni is over, I will have more time to dedicate to reading and blogging – though I have been in a bit of a reading slump since Welcome to Night Vale….

20 books this month; not all pictured. Notables were #TheWhiteRose and #TheLakeHouse. #books #bookstack

A post shared by emmy9394 (@emmy9394) on

The Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
The Battle of the Labyrinth – Rick Riordan
The Last Olympian – Rick Riordan
The White Rose – Amy Ewing
Dangerous Lies – Becca Fitzpatrick
The Bone Labyrinth – James Rollins
Thicker than Water – Brigid Kemmerer
The Wrath and the Dawn – Renee Ahdieh
One – Sarah Crossan
Holding the Man – Timothy Conigrave (Australian author)
The Other Side of the World – Stephanie Bishop (Australian author)
Olive of Groves – Katrina Nannestad (Australian author)
Legend – Marie Lu
The Lake House – Kate Morton (Australian author)
Why Not Me? – Mindy Kaling
Carry On – Rainbow Rowell
What Milo Saw – Virginia Macgregor
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe – Benjamin Alire Sáenz
Razorhurst – Justine Larbalestier (Australian author)
Welcome to Night Vale – Joseph Fink & Jeffrey Cranor

What did you read in October? What were the highlights?

Leave a Reply

