Ten Movie Adaptations I Need to Watch – Top Ten Tuesday

Ten Movie Adaptations I Need to Watch – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

toptentuesday

These are ten book to movie adaptations which I either can’t wait to see or haven’t made it around to seeing yet…. Especially excited for #1!

1. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – J K Rowling

I CANNOT WAIT!!! Anything to do with Harry Potter will forever jump to the front of the queue in my brain! Though I am a little concerned about the ‘No-Maj’ thing; doesn’t have the same ring to it as ‘Muggle’! But the pictures from the movie look super cool!

movies-harry-potter-fantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-them Fantastic-Beasts-2

2. BFG – Roald Dahl

THIS IS GOING TO BE A MOVIE AND I NEED IT IN MY LIFE NOW! There is a cartoon version, which I loved as a child, but a live-action will be even better! I know very little about it except that hopefully its July release will coincide with my holidays!

The BFG book jacket

3. The Martian – Andy Weir

This is a bit of a cheat, as I have already seen the movie. But the book is amazing, and the movie is pretty bloody good as well. I was annoyed because they changed the ending… I think the book ending worked a lot better.

108567414 The_Martian_film_poster

4. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs

Although the book wasn’t one of my absolute favourites, the story is a perfect match for director Tim Burton and I can’t wait to see what he makes of it! It’s going to be very CREEPY!

MissPeregrineCover 426-asset-page

5. Life of Pi – Yann Martel

I can’t believe that I still haven’t seen this movie – it was one of my favourite books! But it was the philosophical bits and pieces I liked most, which I doubt made it into the movie….

life-of-pi-cover-image life-of-pi-poster2

6. Child 44 – Tom Rob Smith

I probably won’t see this movie before hearing guarantees that it isn’t going to give me nightmares. The book was pretty terrifying but also very, very good!

71AG8v3O7vL child44_mov

7. A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

Haven’t actually read this book, but I have heard amazing things. Plus, I loved the two Ness books I have read and want to read this one very very badly!

A_Monster_Calls A-Monster-Calls-616x403

8. The Other Boleyn Girl – Philippa Gregory

Loved the book (it was so racy when I read it in Year 9!), but have never gotten around to seeing the movie. It always confused me that Scarlett Johansson was the meek, innocent sister and Natalie Portman was the powerful, evil, slutty one. But apparently it works, so I really should watch it!

cover21 Other_boleyn_girl_post

9. Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

Still haven’t seen the movie, and only just discovered today that Neil Patrick Harris was in it as well! Need to see it now! Even though I will probably scare myself silly!

 51EW55T156L._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_ 1413758667959_wps_17_GONE_GIRL_POSTER_jpg

10. Macbeth – Shakespeare

Love Lady Macbeth, love Marion Cotillard, need the new movie in my life now. Hope the witches are suitably weird and freaky!

Macbeth macbeth08 (1)

What book to movie adaptations have you really enjoyed? Which are you looking forward to? And which do you still need to see?

Leave a Reply

