Ten Books I’m Thankful For – Top Ten Tuesday

Ten Books I’m Thankful For – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

toptentuesday

We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in Australia, so I always get confused when all of a sudden everyone starts talking about being thankful in November…. However, it is a good practise to show gratitude and there are many many books I am thankful for.

1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – JK Rowling

BECAUSE IT’S HARRY POTTER!!! This book made my life so ridiculously magical and I wouldn’t be the same without this series. Also, completely obsessed with the illustrated version – Jim Kay is my new crush!

2. The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern

Everything about this book is beautiful – the themes, the setting, the cover, the characters. I read this book slowly (difficult for me) purely so that I could keep it going for as long as possible.

3.The Fault in Our Stars – John Green

This was the book that inspired my sister to read. I gave it to her, she spent a few days in bed sobbing and trying to recover, and she hasn’t stopped reading since.

4. Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas

This book really got me back into young adult as a genre. I almost bypassed it completely for the adult fantasy section, but Throne of Glass roped me back in.

5. The News: A User’s Manual – Alain de Botton

I picked this book up mostly because I thought it would be useful for my degree in Media and Communications – and it really really has been; I quote it in most of my essays! I am grateful for this book because it encouraged me to read more non-fiction (and therefore become more worldly!)!

 

6. The Lake House – Kate Morton

This story helped me realise that I can still read and enjoy crime, even if I totally hate the psychological thriller sub-genre. Reading this book prevented me from giving up on the genre entirely!

7. Dumplin’ – Julie Murphy

A book about an overweight girl out to prove that beauty isn’t everything. Willowdean Dickson is so very very real – confident most of the time, but severely lacking in self-esteem sometimes too. Dumplin’ restored my faith in YA fiction which isn’t fantasy. (This was before I discovered Simon Versus the Homo Sapiens Agenda!!)

8. A Thousand Pieces of You – Claudia Gray

AMAZING story, but I am one of the few who don’t like the cover. I am grateful that I moved past that, and was reminded of the truth behind the saying ‘Don’t judge a book by its cover’.

9. The Best-Kept Secret – Emily Rodda

This was my absolute favourite book when I was little. I think I read it more times than I’ve read Harry Potter! I really really hope I have a copy hiding somewhere at home!!

10. The A-Z of You and Me – James Hannah

I mention this one a lot. It is a stunning story about live and death, with a beautiful cover. Not only did it make me laugh and cry, it also reminded me to step outside of my comfort zone because it is there I will find some of the most beautiful things!

What books are you thankful for? What authors? What genres? What makes them so special to you?

Leave a Reply

