November Wrap-Up

November Wrap-Up

Only 13 books this month, but I managed 13 blog posts too (even if some did go up late)! I have been completely flat out with two jobs, an internship, and some exams. Plus I’ve been dating someone and that has distracted me from my books! Though he did lend me Modern Romance so he hasn’t been all bad!

I continued with the Dymocks101 Challenge, finishing Shantaram – it was so much better than I expected!!!! Now I only have two to go – I have started reading the Bible; a little bit at a time seems to be the way to go. No guarantees that I’ll finish before the end of the year, but I am SOOOOO close!

Even though I didn’t read a lot, I did keep up with the Australian authors – 3/13 were Aussies! I really loved Illuminae – multiple authors is definitely working (see Zeroes as well). Cloudwish was also beautiful – it reminded me a bit of Laurinda.

Other notables: I loved Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer – it is even better than Percy Jackson! I was so excited to finally read Sanderson’s Legion: Skin Deep – Legion is one of the best short stories I have EVER read. His imagination is a truly amazing place. Hester & Harriet is a very cute story about two widowed sisters who somehow get involved with a crime. The whole thing was very sweet and generally hysterical! It’s my big Christmas pick at the bookstore.

Lowlights were There Will Be Lies and Only Ever Yours. Neither book was what I expected. Too much was going on in There Will Be Lies and the ending for Only Ever Yours made me regret the entire read.

I had my first experience with a blog tour, hosting Lauren James to talk about her research process! And I got to meet the AMAZING Sarah J Maas – fangirl heaven! She’s so pretty! And she has this awesome first edition of her book which she gets her fans to sign! My favourite was a full page where someone had scrawled in capitals: DON’T KILL CHAOL (PLEASE).

My Family and Other Animals – Gerald Durrell
Smoke and Mirrors – Neil Gaiman
Illuminae – Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (Australian authors.)
Shantaram – Gregory David Roberts (Australian author.)
Modern Romance – Aziz Ansari
The Imaginary – A.F Harrold
There Will Be Lies – Nick Lake
Only Ever Yours – Louise O’Neill
Legion: Skin Deep – Brandon Sanderson
Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer – Rick Riordan
The Adventures of Miss Petitfour – Anne Michaels
Cloudwish – Fiona Wood (Australian author.)
Hester & Harriet – Hilary Spiers

What did you read in November? Any highlights? Any lowlights?

Leave a Reply

