Ten New-to-Me Favourite Authors From 2015 – Top Ten Tuesday

Ten New-to-Me Favourite Authors From 2015 – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

toptentuesday

Well, this theme is a bit convoluted! Not new authors as of 2015, but authors I read for the first time this year. Seeing as this was the year I got incredibly excited about blogging, I found a lot of new favourites!

1. Rick Riordan

I somehow missed Riordan when I was a kid! I still haven’t caught up completely, but I read the Percy Jackson series (well, the first one….) and Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer.

2. Kiera Cass

This woman made me like the Bachelor. I read her entire Selection series in one weekend – couldn’t put them down! Absolutely cannot wait for the final book in the saga – The Crown is due out in May!

3. V.E. Schwab

A Darker Shade of Magic was amazing – I was so intrigued that I ordered the book from overseas! I then picked up Vicious just the other week (first read of December) and it was EVEN BETTER! Can’t wait for the sequels!

4. Patrick Ness

While I haven’t finished The Chaos Walking trilogy, I loved reading the first one! And then I read The Rest of Us Just Live Here and I was completely and utterly sold. Now I NEED to read A Monster Calls before the movie comes out!

5. James Hannah

So he only has the one book, but as followers of the blog will know, I am completely obsessed with The A-Z of You and Me. I cannot wait to get my hands on whatever he comes out with next!

download (2)

6. Amie Kaufman

I was so excited for Illuminae – two awesome Australian authors and a book with an insanely interesting format! But in the lead-up I wanted to try out some of her other stuff, namely These Broken Stars. She cemented my obsession with YA sci-fi, after it was sparked by Marissa Meyer’s Cinder.

7. Claudia Gray

A Thousand Pieces of You is just an awesome book (even if I am one of the only people in the world to HATE the cover). The second one is also brilliant, and I await the third with bated breath. I should probably try some of her other series though….

8. Derek Landy

I read the first two Skulduggery Pleasant books for the Dymocks101 challenge, and was lucky enough to receive an ARC for Demon Road.  I definitely intend on finishing the Skulduggery series, and I CANNOT WAIT for more in the Demon Road series!

9. Naomi Novik

Uprooted was an amazing fantasy novel which introduced me to Novik’s Temeraire series – a Napoleonic War with dragons. While I haven’t read it yet, HOW AWESOME DOES IT SOUND?

10. Kate Forsyth

I only started reading Bitter Greens because of its inclusion on the Dymocks101 list. And when I met the lovely Kate herself at the launch for The Beast’s GardenI fell even more in love with her writing! Now I just need to FINALLY get to Dragonclaw. I just can’t bring myself to start another series just yet…..

Which authors did you discover in 2015? Who will be a staunch favourite from now on?

Leave a Reply

