All I Want for Christmas – Top Ten Tuesday

All I Want for Christmas – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

toptentuesday

No one buys me books anymore, because I generally buy myself all the books I want…. (A perk and also a negative to working in a bookstore.) But these are the books I want to treat (and in some cases already have treated) myself with for the holiday season!

1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone Deluxe Illustrated Edition

Harry Potter is my life and this book is just too beautiful. Stupidly expensive but a necessary expense for a Harry Potter maniac. Haven’t bought it for myself but all my fingers and toes are crossed that everyone took the hint! If this was the only thing I ever received for Christmas again I would die happy.

2. Fates and Furies – Lauren Groff

Another book with an AMAZING cover. I am not really sure what to expect but have only heard good things. It’s the story of a relationship from both sides.

3. Snow Like Ashes – Sarah Raasch

I must get onto this one! Having perused the reviews on Goodreads, I already love the way the world is divided based on seasons! Can’t wait to get my hands on this one.

4. The Infographic Guide to Literature – Joana Eliot

An infographic guide to literature!!!!! This book came out at the end of last year but I didn’t grab it when I had the chance. Beautifully organised and full of juicy literary tidbits, this is a book to peruse often.

5. The Elegance of the Hedgehog – Muriel Barbery

I have wanted to read this book for YEARS (definitely since high school) and I recently saw it in the bookshop again. Set in Paris, it’s a story about a friendship between a young girl and the concierge of her building.

6. More Than This – Patrick Ness

I have read two Patrick Ness books this year – The Knife of Never Letting Go and The Rest of Us Just Live Here. I have bought The Ask and the Answer to read in the holidays, but I have heard so many good things about this stand-alone that I need it in my life!

7. We Are All Stardust – Stefan Klein

Physicist and journalist Stefan Klein in conversation with nineteen of the world’s best-known scientists. I have read an extract about wasps and it was AMAZING! I need the rest!

8. H is for Hawk – Helen Macdonald

Not a typical choice for me – a biography mixed with bird care. However, I have heard from many (whose opinions I trust) that it is excellent.

9. All the Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr

It’s been the winner of the Pulitzer Prize this year, and is selling like hotcakes from the bookshop where I work. No one has given me a bad review of the book!

10. The World Without Us – Mireille Juchau

I LOVE THE COVER! And I just really want to read this book. It looks very good, plus I keep getting asked about it at work.

What do you want for Christmas?

One thought on “All I Want for Christmas – Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

