Ten of the Greatest Australian Authors – Top Ten Tuesday

Ten of the Greatest Australian Authors – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday was a freebie, and it coincided with Australia Day! Therefore, I thought I’d share the love for some AMAZING Australian authors. I did a similar (if smaller) Australia Day list last year, and while I adore all authors mentioned there only a few made the cut this year…..

1. Emily Rodda

As followers of my blog will know, I recently reread the Deltora Quest series, in preparation for her new Star of Deltora books. I loved every single minute, and am tempted to go back and read The Three Doors trilogy and reread Rowan of Rin. I also saw Dog Tales in the bookshop the other day, and I remember it being absolutely adorable! There was a goat named Mabel who thought she was one of the dogs! And then there was Pigs Might Fly and The Best-Kept Secret!! Goodness, I’m making my reread list longer by the second!

2. Matthew Reilly

Everything this genius writes is just amazing (I am ignoring Troll Mountain in that particular statement – but just the one failure isn’t bad at all!) And we got this fantastic news just recently! The Great Zoo of China has been optioned for a movie and the fourth Jack West Jr book has been delivered to the publishers! Time for yet another reread?!?!

I’m very pleased to report that the movie rights to THE GREAT ZOO OF CHINA have been optioned by TriStar Pictures. And Jack West IV (title to be revealed soon) has been delivered to my publishers…MR

Posted by Matthew Reilly on Thursday, 28 January 2016

3. Mem Fox

In addition to my all-time favourite children’s book EVER, Wilfrid Gordon McDonald Partridge, Mem Fox gave us THE Australian children’s classic, Possum Magic. Hattie and the Fox is pretty awesome too – a story about a chicken! She is and always will be my favourite picture book author. (Although, Aaron Blabey did come pretty close to that title with Thelma the Unicorn.)

4. Melina Marchetta

My sister basically threatened to never speak to me again if the lovely Melina didn’t make it onto this list! While On the Jellicoe Road is her favourite, Saving Francesca is mine. I STILL haven’t read her fantasy series, starting with Finnikin on the Rock, but I hope to change that soon.

5. Shaun Tan

I know I said that Mem Fox was the ULTIMATE, but Shaun Tan’s picture books are too mature to be considered in quite the same category. I studied The Rabbits at school, which taught me the meaning of allegory. My sister introduced me to The Lost Thing which is just stunning. And I read Eric just the other day – too cute for words!

6. Kate Morton

I remember reading The Forgotten Garden a long time ago, and I still remember details! That rarely ever happens with me, so I know it has to have been VERY good! I read and reviewed her newest book The Lake House recently, and have been inspired to go back through her catalogue. Apparently the others are also amazing!

7. Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

These two have to go together because I am purely fangirling over the AMAZING Illuminae. While I quite liked These Broken Stars, this author combination has produced something so much better! Jay’s books also look fantastic so I will have to take a closer look!

8. Scott Westerfeld

Uglies was one of my absolute favourite books when I was in Year 7. Then, when Zeroes came out I fell even more in love with his writing (along with Margo Lanagan and Deborah Biancotti). Even more exciting was discovering that he lives in Sydney and that I can claim him as an Australian author! (His wife, Justine Larbalestier, is also a fantastic Australian author – her new book, My Sister Rosa, is in the TBR short-list; it looks fantastic!)

9. C.S. Pacat

C.S. Pacat writes the most amazingly diverse fantasy series I have EVER read, starting with Captive Prince. It is amazing, and the third one (King’s Rising) comes out in just a few days and I am hyperventilating just thinking about it. Every moment is completely tense and I love it all!

10. Kate Forsyth

Admittedly, I haven’t read anywhere near enough of her books to make her one of my favourites, but I absolutely adored Bitter GreensDragonclaw and The Wild Girl have been on my TBR pile for so long now that it’s a crime! A colleague of mine bought The Wild Girl the other day, so I think it’s time I read it – at least I’ll have someone to talk about it with! Also, Kate is one of the loveliest authors I have ever met – and that means she definitely deserves a spot on this list!

Who are your favourite Australian authors? Do you agree or disagree with any of my choices?

Leave a Reply

