Ten Historical/Futuristic Settings I Love – Top Ten Tuesday

Ten Historical/Futuristic Settings I Love – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

toptentuesday

This week’s topic was a little bit convoluted. We could choose the historical settings we adore, or the futuristic societies we love to read about. Instead of sticking just to historical or futuristic, I am discussing my favourite time periods – both futuristic and historical!

1. TIME TRAVEL

My absolute favourite time period is ALL OF THEM TOGETHER AT ONCE! I love time travel books. If I could have any superpower, it is a really tough decision between time travel and flying. Two of my absolute favourite time travel books have been Ruby Red and Passenger, but I am always on the lookout for more!

2. Dystopian Australia

I really really loved Lifespan of Starlight last year, a book set in a not-too-distant future, where every individual has an identity chip in their arm. Anyone who exists outside the system, like the main character Scout, is in trouble. I just loved how this book made me think about my own country in the future! I ABSOLUTELY CANNOT WAIT FOR THE SECOND BOOK…….. I also LOVED Taronga by Victor Kelleher when I was a child. Must reread that one sometime. I remember it being A LOT scarier than this cover makes it look!

3. The Reign of King Henry VIII

I am a teeny tiny bit obsessed with King Henry VIII and his six wives. It is FASCINATING! He created a whole new religion just so that he could get divorced. And then of course, there was the whole beheading Anne Boleyn thing which is pretty intriguing. I also love anything about Elizabeth I, particularly about her childhood.

4. The Space Era

I didn’t really get into science-fiction until about two years ago, and now I cannot wait for the time when we live on other planets and can travel through space. I particularly love Illuminae, and The Lunar ChroniclesThe former is set on a space ship, with an artificial intelligence system who goes a bit crazy. In the latter, a colony has been well-established on the moon for a few centuries but it has affected the colonists in a strange way…. Lots of battles (and some fun predictable romance) ensues. Plus, there is an awesome android character. The future looks FUN!

5. 1930s-1950s Boarding School Stories

This basically encompasses the Enid Blyton stories I just completely adored as a child. The children all had so much fun (even if they also had many misunderstandings) and Enid Blyton’s stories was the main reason I elected to become a boarder myself. Although I never did have quite as much fun as The Naughtiest Girl in the School! I also loved The Worst Witch series, which had a boarding school plus magic (preparing me for my love of Harry Potter)!

6. Biblical Times

I recently read The Secret Chord by Geraldine Brooks – it’s a sort of fictional biography of King David. I also loved her People of the Book, which follows a Bible through history. Another series I love is Matthew Reilly’s Seven Ancient Wonders. The third book, Five Greatest Warriors, isn’t necessarily set in biblical times, but it deals with Jesus’ lifetime quite a bit! I’m not religious, but I find it all very fascinating!

7. Edwardian Period (early 1900s)

One of my favourite series set in this period is Michael Pryor’s Laws of Magic – it doesn’t adhere very strongly to the period (just the general spirit) and takes much from the steampunk subgenre, but it is AWESOME! I also love A Secret Garden and A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett – they’re set a teeny little bit earlier, but they’re still in the general period!

8. Trojan War and the Founding of Rome

I study Latin, and to be that insane you really need to have a passion for the story of the Trojan War. I absolutely LOVE the Aeneid, and also really enjoy the Odyssey (which is Greek, so I’ve only read it in English…..) The ancient poets really knew how to inspire! When reading these I always want to become an adventurer!

9. Arthurian legends

Two of my favourite series when I was in early high school were Shalott by Felicity Pulman (a timeslip series based on the poem by Lord Tennyson) and The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper. I really love it when authors flesh out myths!

10. Contemporary Australia

Cliched I know, to like my own time and place so much. Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta and Laurinda by Alice Pung have both been so completely relevant to my life. I always enjoy contemporary Australian fiction so much more than I expect to! Keep it coming!

What about you? What are your favourite time periods? Did fiction inspire a love of history? Or vice versa?

Leave a Reply

