January Wrap-Up

January Wrap-Up

I absolutely refuse to believe that it is time for my monthly wrap-up ALREADY! Where has the time gone? (Towards reading, mostly…..) I made it to 31 books this month – a book a day! Admittedly, three of those were Penguin Little Black Classics (I collected all 80 this month!) but they STILL COUNT! I’ve been a bit slack on the blogging though….. Only 12 posts and of those at least 4 were Top Ten Tuesdays! I’m hoping to do some Stacking the Shelves posts next month, a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It’ll hopefully keep me accountable for all the books I keep accumulating! Hahaha! And I’m planning to start some mini reviews, so that I share my thoughts about more than just two books a week!

IMG_4971

I wasn’t expecting many visits this month – I haven’t been great at scheduling my blog posts and sharing them on social media, but I was VERY surprised that my most popular post was The Bone Labyrinth by James Rollins! I loved the book, but I was a bit shocked because the review was published rather early in December! My blog was also being found a lot more through Google – I think the fact that I have started using categories and tags have definitely helped in that regard! I have also been A LOT more active on Instagram – some were personal photos, but most were to do with all my pretty books! And just in the past few days I’ve started enjoying Twitter again!

Great start to the year! I have already ticked off one resolution! #library #books #newyearresolution

A post shared by emmy9394 (@emmy9394) on

One resolution has already been ticked off! I joined the local library and my first book borrowed was H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald, one of this month’s highlights. I knew it would be good from all the reviews I’d heard, but it was even better than I was expecting. Although it deals with Macdonald’s grief, and her goshawk training, I didn’t realise that is also incorporated biographical elements about T. H. White, the author of The Once and Future King – the reflections on his life were some of my absolute favourite moments! I also borrowed some books from friends this month – it’s a good system because I want to read them immediately to get them back to their owners in good time!

I was a little bit better at avoiding book-buying. I did purchase some of the Obernewtyn series for myself. I reread the first one this month and LOVED it just as much as the first time. And so I decided I needed my own copies (I borrowed them all from the school library the first time around….) I also purchased all of the Penguin Little Black Classics – I heard that they weren’t being reprinted so I raced around and gathered up all the ones I didn’t have, justifying them as collector’s items! 😛 I also found a few Harry Potters with the original covers at the local markets – mine are all sun-damaged, so I snatched up these basically new copies as fast as humanly possible!

FullSizeRender

Because I’ve prevented myself buying too many books, I’ve been reading more from the TBR pile (another New Year’s resolution)!!! I have had all of the Street Style books sitting around for SO LONG that I had to read them – and they’re beautiful! 12 of the other books had been in the pile for between three and six months!

I have been trying to figure out how to join the Australian YA Bloggers Reading Challenge and am hoping to find another one to join as well. I LOVE LISTS – the satisfaction of ticking each box is just incredible! 😛

Berlin Street Style – Angelika Taschen
Paris Street Style – Isabelle Thomas
Brooklyn Street Style – Shawn Dahl
Tom Houghton – Todd Alexander (Australian author.)
Golden Boys – Sonya Hartnett (Australian author.)
Fates and Furies – Lauren Groff
Year of Wonders – Geraldine Brooks (Australian author.)
Shaking Hands with Death – Terry Pratchett
Dragon’s Nest – Emily Rodda (Australian author.)
Shadowgate – Emily Rodda (Australian author.)
Isle of the Dead – Emily Rodda (Australian author.)
The Sister of the South – Emily Rodda (Australian author.)
Paris Street Style: Shoes – Isabelle Thomas
Almost English – Charlotte Mendelson
Not If I See You First – Eric Lindstrom
H is for Hawk – Helen Macdonald
Max – Sarah Cohen-Scali
Shadows of the Master – Emily Rodda (Australian author.)
Obernewtyn – Isobelle Carmody (Australian author.)
The Secret Chord – Geraldine Brooks (Australian author.)
Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club – Alison Goodman (Australian author.)
Golden Son – Pierce Brown
Two Moons – Emily Rodda (Australian author.)
Towers of Illica – Emily Rodda (Australian author.)
Eric – Shaun Tan (Australian author.)
Yellow – Megan Jacobson (Australian author.)
The Saga of Gunnlaug Serpent-Tongue – Anonymous
Frankie – Shivaun Plozza (Australian author.)
Mrs Rosie and the Priest – Giovanni Boccaccio
As kingfishers catch fire – Gerard Manley Hopkins
The God Delusion – Richard Dawkins

What did you read in January? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

