Stacking the Shelves #1

Stacking the Shelves #1

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

StackingtheShelves

This is a new addition to my blog – I feel like I am DROWNING in books at the moment, and I can’t even remember where they all came from. Thus, in an effort to curb my spending, and just my general book accumulation, I want to share my shame! 😛

This week (Sunday January 31st-Saturday February 6th 2016), I added ten new books to my collection. Two were bought, two were borrowed, and six were given to me for review purposes. It will be tough to get through them all!

Bought:

  • The Rest of Us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness (Special Limited Edition)

I absolutely loved this book, and the special edition is so pretty! Plus, there isn’t a dust-jacket to get ruined. I was considering giving this version to my sister for her birthday, but after careful consideration I think it is too nice a book to part with! (Sorry, Soph!)

  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – J.K. Rowling (Slipcase Edition)

Last year I spent way too much money on books, so I decided to focus my purchases on special, beautiful editions rather than just buying everything! I have been wanting this gorgeous slipcase edition FOREVER, and now it is finally in my possession! (Some saving had to happen first…..)

Borrowed:

  • Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton

I borrowed this one from a colleague, and read it in a day. (I’ll return it Monday, but kept it a teeny bit longer than I needed to for the photographs!) It was a great book (released at the end of this month) and I’ll be reviewing it around the time of its release!

  • King’s Rising – C.S. Pacat

I will definitely have to buy this book, but this week is not that week! I am halfway through this book, the last in the compelling Captive Prince trilogy. It was hard to take a break from it to write this blog post…..

ARCs:

  • Firstlife – Gena Showalter (March 2016)
  • What I Saw – Beck Nicholas (March 2016)
  • Changers – T Cooper and Alison Glock-Cooper (January 2016)
  • Iris and the Tiger – Leanne Hall (February 2016)
  • When We Collided – Emery Lord (April 2016)
  • Bullet Catcher – Joaquin Lowe (April 2016)

All of these look pretty cool – I am particularly excited for What I Saw; it’s an Australian YA book about alcohol-fuelled violence, especially king hits. I love seeing authors embracing what is in the media and making it more relevant for teenagers and young adults.

What did you add to your shelves this week?

Leave a Reply

