Stacking the Shelves #2

Stacking the Shelves #2

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

StackingtheShelves

Until yesterday (Friday) I had no books to add this week – I was stressing about what I could possible post tonight! And then I got inundated with reading copies (at no cost). And then I was at work at the bookshop and a book I had ordered arrived. And there was another book there which was too cute (and too cheap) to avoid purchasing! Through all these little steps I arrived at EIGHT new books for the TBR pile…. Oops!

ARCs:

All of these are by Australian authors! This will be the year I read more Australian books than ever before! 😛

  • The Sidekicks – Will Kostakis

I have already finished this book and it was absolutely DIVINE! I will be recommending it to every single teenage boy I possible can. Will Kostakis is AMAZING! I can’t wait until it is finally published and I can give it to EVERYONE!

  • A Guide to Berlin – Gail Jones
  • Small Acts of Disappearance – Fiona Wright

Both of these books are on the 2016 Stella Prize longlist, which is why I picked them up. I don’t often read the prize lists, but this year I am determined! I have read four of the books from 2015’s longlist – Laurinda, The Eye of the Sheep, Golden Boys, and The Strays, which was the winner. I am hoping to write a blog post about the Stella Prize sometime this week. (NOTE: both of these books ARE already published; I just happened upon reading copies at my work.)

Borrowed:

  • Hotel du Barry – Lesley Truffle

I am 30 pages in and loving every second! Already I am laughing like crazy! It will apparently turn into a crime novel, and I expect every moment to be an absolute riot.

  • In Praise of Idleness – Bertrand Russell and Bradley Trevor Greive

I need to work on some excuses for not doing anything – both for myself, and my parents. Uni starts up next month so I need to start preparing my reasons for idleness NOW!

  • My Brilliant Friend – Elena Ferrante

I will admit that I am very nervous to begin this book, as it could have me racing to the bookshop to break all my promises about not buying books!

FullSizeRender 2

Bought:

Did I break the book-buying ban if somebody else bought these for me?????

  • Bands of Mourning – Brandon Sanderson

I finished Shadows of Self last week. While it wasn’t Sanderson’s best, I need something to fill the time until Calamity comes out!!!!!!!!!

  • The 24-Hour Wine Expert – Jancis Robinson

I have reached the stage of life where it pays to be sophisticated! 😛 This book was too cute!!! It explains all sorts of interesting snippets about wine in very comprehensible language. (Though the wine in the photo was drunk less for its taste than its ability to alleviate my concerns about having so many more books to read…..Hahahaha!

What did you add to your shelves this week?

Leave a Reply

