The Stella Prize 2016

The Stella Prize 2016

I first became intrigued by the Stella Prize last year, when I noticed that this ‘literary’ prize included Laurinda, a young adult novel. I devoured (and adored) Laurinda, and when the winner was announced as The Strays, I read that too – it was so much better than I could have imagined! I didn’t think I could get enthusiastic about an alternative artistic community, not being much of an art fan!

After last year’s successes, I am determined to read this year’s longlist in its entirety. I love that this prize stretches into a number of genres! So far I have read one-and-a-half! I read The Other Side of the World back in October and really enjoyed it, and am partway through this year’s only nonfiction – Small Acts of Disappearance; it is AMAZING!

Longlist-Blog

I have heard fantastic things about The Women’s Pages – I’m pretty sure it references Wuthering Heights which makes me very happy! And The Natural Way of Things has just been optioned for a movie! The World Without Us has one of the most amazing covers EVER – I have wanted a copy since I initially saw the book!

I acquired copies of Small Acts of Disappearance and A Guide to Berlin last weekSmall Acts of Disappearance is a collection of essays about hunger, as Fiona Wright analyses her disordered eating patterns – it is absolutely brilliant, lyrical and harsh at the same time.

I don’t really know much about the other books, but I can’t wait to find out, as I work my way through them.

For more information about the Stella Prize, check out the website here!

Do any of these books pique your interest? Have you read any? What are your thoughts on reading prize longlists?

Leave a Reply

