February Wrap-Up

February Wrap-Up

A REALLY BIG MONTH! 32 books, and 20 blog posts published! (I hope to goodness I can remain this organised throughout March!) My most popular blog post was Yellow (mostly because it was shared by Booktopia‘s social media pages).

I tried out my first Mini Reviews post, with some cute new YA titles! I’m already excited to do my next lot in March! It’s tricky trying to talk about a book in so few words! I also stuck to my guns with the Stacking the Shelves meme – it’s been really fun! (Though sometimes very scary!) In total, I accumulated 32 new books (EEK!), but I have managed to read 19 of them already! And I’ve even reviewed quite a few!

My absolute favourite for the month has been The Sidekicks by Will Kostakis. If I can convince you to buy one book this year, it is definitely this one. Plus, the author is AMAZING! I also loved The DoldrumsHotel du Barry, and Small Acts of Disappearance. I wasn’t a big fan of Girls on Fire (Satanic cults are SERIOUSLY not my thing….), and I just wasn’t enraptured by Elena Ferrante’s My Brilliant Friend. But for the most part, I enjoyed my reads this month!

IMG_5095

I read two more of the Stella Prize contenders, bringing my total to 3/12. In March I’m hoping to find copies of The Natural Way of Things, Hope Farm and The Women’s Pages. Back to the library I go! And, speaking of Australian authors – 40% of this month’s reads were by Aussies! (I only have two Aussies on my March TBR so far….. I’d best try and fix that!

I got back into fantasy, which made me VERY happy! And I managed to read a lot of young adult books as well! The never-ending pile is still ENORMOUS, but I have been making a good effort to read some of the books which have been around for ages!

And I received my first YA Chronicles box! It was rebellion themed, and had bits and bobs from Throne of GlassThe Lunar Chronicles, The Hunger Games, and my very own copy of Rebel of the Sands! So excited for the next one – it’s Made in Australia themed!

The Dry – Jane Harper (Australian author)
This is Where the World Ends – Amy Zhang
Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton
Shadows of Self – Brandon Sanderson
Kings Rising – C.S. Pacat (Australian author)
What I Saw – Beck Nicholas (Australian author)
Iris and the Tiger – Leanne Hall (Australian author)
Will – Maria Boyd (Australian author)
On Murder Considered as One of the Fine Arts – Thomas De Quincey
Aphorisms on Love and Hate – Friedrich Nietzsche
The Doldrums – Nicholas Gannon
Traffic – John Ruskin
Wailing Ghosts – Pu Songling
My Sister Rosa – Justine Larbalestier (Australian author)
Three Tang Dynasty Poets – Wang Wei
The Sidekicks – Will Kostakis (Australian author)
Hotel du Barry – Lesley Truffle (Australian author)
In Praise of Idleness – Bertrand Russell & Bradley Trevor Greive (Australian author)
My Brilliant Friend – Elena Ferrante
Small Acts of Disappearance – Fiona Wright (Australian author)
Maestra – L.S. Hilton
A Guide to Berlin – Gail Jones (Australian author)
Bullet Catcher – Joaquin Lowe
The Trees – Ali Shaw
Firstlife – Gena Showalter
Changers: Drew – T. Cooper & Allison Glock-Cooper
The Yearbook Committee – Sarah Ayoub (Australian author)
Girls on Fire – Robin Wasserman
When We Collided – Emery Lord
Calamity – Brandon Sanderson
Magrit – Lee Battersby
The Farseekers – Isobelle Carmody (Australian author)

What did you read this month? What were your favourites?

Leave a Reply

