Stacking the Shelves #5

Stacking the Shelves #5

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

StackingtheShelves

I didn’t keep track this week (Sunday February 28th – Saturday March 5th)…… So I’m hoping that I am admitting to all the books I ended up with. I made multiple trips to the library! I bought quite a few Will Kostakis books, and also ended up with some ARCs from work.

Bought:

  • The Sidekicks – Will Kostakis (x3)

This is officially my favourite book of the year. I had to buy multiple copies for the book’s launch! One for me, one for the best friend, and one for the sister! I also did a podcast with Will for Booktopia this week – listen to it below!

  • The First Third – Will Kostakis

I absolutely had to buy a copy of this book, because Will’s Yiayia was signing them! Plus, even though The Sidekicks will forever be my best friend, I can’t really call myself a fan if I haven’t read everything?! I’ll buy Loathing Lola soon, but it’s only available in an eBook format…..

I have already read this book, but I got my very own copy from the YA Chronicles! It was my first box, and I absolutely loved it! I have since signed up for a six-month subscription. IT IS JUST SO COOL! Every month has a theme, and the box includes a book and then related bookish items. For example, this month, as well as Rebel of the Sands, we had tea inspired by The Lunar Chronicles, cute stickers of the Throne of Glass characters, some lip balm inspired by Dauntless from Divergent, and a Hunger Games rebellion poster.

Borrowed:

  • Summer Skin – Kirsty Eager

Borrowed this one from a colleague, but I am absolutely going to need to buy my own copy! This book was AMAZING – not as much sex as I expected from all the reviews, but it was such a real representation of uni kids!

  • Leap – Myfanwy Jones

I have wanted to read this book for quite a while – the cover has a tiger on it! And on its blurb, it is described as a ‘beautiful urban fairytale’. Can’t wait to get stuck into it!

  • The Women’s Pages – Debra Adelaide
  • The World Without Us – Mireille Juchau
  • A Few Days in the Country and Other Stories – Elizabeth Harrower
  • Hope Farm – Peggy Frew
  • Anchor Point – Alice Robinson
  • A Short History of Richard Kline – Amanda Lohrey
  • The Natural Way of Things – Charlotte Wood

All library books, and all Stella Prize contenders. I just realised how little time I have until the shortlist is announced, so I’ve been rushing through all of these! Six down from the total list!

ARCs:

  • The Book of Pearl – Timothée de Fombelle

It sounds alright, but the cover is DREADFUL! It looks like it should be about spirituality…. I’ll try and reserve judgement though!

  • The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck – Sarah Night

I CANNOT WAIT TO READ THIS ONE! Amazing title, and it will hopefully have relevant information about getting rid of the crap in my life! 😛

What did you add to your shelves this week? 

Leave a Reply

