Stacking the Shelves #8

Stacking the Shelves #8

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

StackingtheShelves

Six new books this week (Sunday 20th March – Saturday 26th March)! I definitely did NOT stick to my book-buying ban – two books I ordered arrived, and I couldn’t just leave them there! 😛 I haven’t been back to the library since I finished reading the Stella Prize longlist though; maybe next time I desperately want to buy something, I will reconsider!

FullSizeRender

Bought:

  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – J.K. Rowling (Slipcase Edition)

I CANNOT RESIST PRETTY HARRY POTTER BOOKS! And this one is beautiful! A red slipcase, with a beautiful green hardcover. It can match its brother, which was featured in my very first Stacking the Shelves blog post!

  • Morning Star – Pierce Brown

I have quite enjoyed reading this series. The first book (Red Rising) was definitely better than the second, but I am still very intrigued to see how it all wraps up!

ARCs:

  • Time Travelling with a Hamster – Ross Welford

The title was more than enough to convince me to pick up this funny little book! I’m hoping to get started very shortly (though I am saying this about most books at the moment….)

  • Raymie Nightingale – Kate DiCamillo

I actually haven’t read any of Kate DiCamillo’s other books…. (I am very very ashamed of this fact….) However, I absolutely devoured Raymie Nightingale and will definitely be tucking into her other titles! Review should be up soon – it’s a gorgeous book about three little girls and their burgeoning friendship.

  • Book of Lies – Teri Terry

I have had Teri Terry’s Slated sitting in my enormous TBR for almost a year now. But, Book of Lies looks sooooooo good, that it will probably get read first! It’s about twins, and I am a little bit obsessed with twin stories.

  • The Book that Made Me – Edited by Judith Ridge

This is the kind of book I adore, and it was so easy to get through! It’s a collection of authors talking about the stories which had the greatest influence on them. The book also has gorgeous Shaun Tan illustrations peppered throughout! My favourite story was that of Will Kostakis (author of The Sidekicks), who chose Hatchet as a major influence on his writing career – though not in the way you’d expect!

One thought on “Stacking the Shelves #8

  1. What a nice haul! I haven’t read the Red Rising trilogy yet but I would really, really like to soon. I’ve been hearing mixed things about and while it doesn’t sound like my sort of thing 100%, I’d still like to branch out and give it a shot. And I hate the cover of that new Terri Terry book, but my friend has pushed me to read Slated for so long that I feel that I need to pick up one of her books soon too.

    And don’t worry, no one can help accumulating 50 bazillion copies of HP. It’s inevitable!

Leave a Reply

