March Wrap-Up

March Wrap-Up

This month has been a bit stressful – I went back to uni in addition to balancing two jobs, and I had a death in the family. However, I still managed to get through 26 books. I posted 20 times, which is the same as February! I would have done better, but I dropped off a little bit at the end of the month…. I’m still trying to catch up!

This month’s most popular blog posts were Books for When You Need to Laugh or Cry – Top Ten Tuesday and Maestra (everyone is intrigued by an erotic thriller!). My blog has been getting a lot of views which is really exciting – Booktopia has been sharing my posts on their Twitter feed, and my blog was linked to from the Berkelouw Books Rose Bay Instagram account.FullSizeRender

I have read A LOT of Australian authors this month, not least due to my determination to read the entire Stella Prize longlist. Not long now until the winner is announced (20th April). Maybe I should set my sights on the Miles Franklin longlist for this month – I’ve already read four of the nine books! I was really excited to see Leap by Myfanwy Jones on there – I really loved the story!

I borrowed most of my books this month – it’s been fantastic cutting down on my purchasing; I’ve saved a lot of money (and space)! This month I really must try and focus on cutting down the TBR. Some older titles will have to be moved to the top of the pile.

Starting the semester in the best way! #SummerSkin @kirstyeagar

A post shared by emmy9394 (@emmy9394) on

The 2016 Dymocks101 was announced a short while ago! There isn’t too much crossover with last year, which is a BONUS! I have read 73 of the titles. I was intrigued that there was so much non-fiction added to the list – I’ll have to get reading! Though I’ll probably skip Jamie Oliver’s Everyday Superfoods…..

FullSizeRenderMy favourites from this month are still ages away from publication – The Fireman by Joe Hill along with And I Darken by Kiersten White. I will post reviews in June, when they’re due out! It was also AMAZING to reread The Eyre Affair, and to keep going with the Obernewtyn series. A Court of Mist and Fury completely blew its prequel out of the water.

Lab Girl – Hope Jahren
Summer Skin – Kirsty Eagar (Australian author)
The Women’s Pages – Debra Adelaide (Australian author)
The World Without Us – Mireille Juchau (Australian author)
A Few Days in the Country And Other Stories – Elizabeth Harrower (Australian author)
Hope Farm – Peggy Frew (Australian author)
The Natural Way of Things – Charlotte Wood (Australian author)
A Short History of Richard Kline – Amanda Lohrey (Australian author)
Anchor Point – Alice Robinson (Australian author)
Panthers and the Museum of Fire – Jen Craig (Australian author)
Six Bedrooms – Tegan Bennett Daylight (Australian author)
The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k – Sarah Knight
Sister Heart – Sally Morgan (Australian author)
A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J Maas
The Crown’s Game – Evelyn Skye
Leap – Myfanwy Jones (Australian author)
MARTians – Blythe Woolston
The Fireman – Joe Hill
Invasion of the Tearling – Erika Johansen
Raymie Nightingale – Kate DiCamillo
The Book That Made Me – Edited by Judith Ridge (Australian author)
The Eyre Affair – Jasper Fforde
Ashling – Isobelle Carmody (Australian author)
Time Travelling with a Hamster – Ross Welford
And I Darken – Kiersten White
Knights of the Borrowed Dark – Dave Rudden

What did you read this month? What were your highlights?

Leave a Reply

