Stacking the Shelves #9

Stacking the Shelves #9

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

StackingtheShelves

Three new books this week (Sunday 27th March – Saturday 2nd April), and I didn’t buy any! Perhaps I CAN commit to a book-buying ban! We’ll have to see….

All of these books are dark, but they remind us all that there is light to be found everywhere. The undercurrent of hope and love in all of this week’s books makes the darkness worth it all!

ARCs:FullSizeRender

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this one, but I found myself really enjoying the story. It is a great read for young boys, with hints of Harry Potter and Skulduggery Pleasant. I couldn’t put it down!

  • The Bone Sparrow – Zana Fraillon

This book isn’t out until July, but my goodness it is going to be a big one. A devastating narrative about a little boy stuck in an Australian refugee camp. But there is still hope to be found in friendship and story-telling. This will be an incredibly valuable school text.

  • And I Darken – Kiersten White

Another July release! This book was absolutely awesome. It tells the story of Lada Dracul, daughter of the historical figure, Vlad Dracul. It is bloodthirsty and savage,  but Lada shines as a character to site beside the likes of Caelena Sardothien from Throne of Glass. I was a bit disappointed that it is a series, because now I have to wait for more!

Leave a Reply

