Stacking the Shelves #10

Stacking the Shelves #10

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

StackingtheShelves

This week (Sunday 3rd April – Saturday 9th April) I accumulated three new books. My supposed book-buying ban didn’t last. I bought myself a copy of The Family Law by Benjamin Law when I attended a Kinokuniya event where he was speaking.

FullSizeRender

Bought:

  • The Family Law – Benjamin Law

I have been meaning to read this for a while – I wanted to read it before the SBS show launched, but that didn’t happen. Instead, I didn’t even get my hands on the book until last week, when I attended ‘The Gay Book’ with Benjamin Law and Will Kostakis in conversation. It was such a fantastic event I had to buy the book! Both men were incredibly eloquent and very funny. I only wish the whole thing had been recorded so that I could listen to it all over again!

ARCs:

  • Dragonfly Song – Wendy Orr

A middle-grade historical fiction set in Bronze Age Crete. I love Greek myth (in fact, I get to study myth at uni next semester!) and I’m really excited to get stuck into this book. Unfortunately I have assignments and exams coming up, so it’ll have to sit on the shelf for a little while longer…..

  • Ruined – Amy Tintera

26074185I really really liked Amy Tintera’s Reboot, and I became really excited after discovering an extract from Ruined online (I was going to link to it, but I am struggling to find it!). Also, Amy Tintera is the only author who my sister has read more of than me, so I need to read this one before her to even it up a little bit! I’m a bit disappointed because the US cover is so much nicer than ours….. But hey, it’s the same story right?

What new books did you add to your shelves this week? Are you excited to hear more about any of my picks?

One thought on “Stacking the Shelves #10

  1. Hi Emily!
    It’s Ruby!!! I love the bookstore Kinokunya!!! I love how it sells not only books but also stationery and toys!

Leave a Reply

