Ten Childhood Characters I’d Like to Revisit – Top Ten Tuesday

Ten Childhood Characters I’d Like to Revisit – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

toptentuesday

It proved a little bit tricky, trying to remember the books I loved when I was a kid! This has also been an absolutely terrible topic for my TBR, because I now want to read these books all over again!

1. Harry Potter, Hermione Granger, and Ronald Weasley

I always pull Harry Potter out for Top Ten Tuesdays! Rarely will I ever go a week without mentioning him! Luckily, with Harry Potter and the Cursed Child coming out this year, I DO get to see these childhood staples as adults. It will be incredibly interesting to see how Harry, Hermione, and Ron have changed over the years! I cannot wait to see my old friends in action again!

2. Matilda

I would absolutely love to know what Roald Dahl’s Matilda is like as an adult. She probably takes after Miss Honey. Otherwise, she’s exactly the same as Mara Wilson, the actress who played her and is my Twitter crush! Absolutely hysterical!

3. Francis Bacon

I absolutely loved this book called A Pig Called Francis Bacon, where a ridiculously intelligent pig made friends with a young girl, and eventually had his brain transplanted into the body of a teenage boy. Looking back, this book sounds weird as hell, but I read it so many times, and would love to know more about how the two got on, especially knowing that Francis used to actually be a pig.

Note: While trying to find a picture of the book, I discovered that there are more books in this series! Absolutely devastated that I didn’t know this during my childhood!

4. Elizabeth Allen

How did the Naughtiest Girl in the School cope when she was no longer at school? I loved this story, and it made me fall in love with boarding school. I was a lot more like Joan, but I wanted a friend like Elizabeth!

5. Scout Finch

I often wanted to know how Scout felt about her childhood in To Kill a Mockingbird. I could take the leap and read Go Set a Watchman, but I’m still a little iffy….. Maybe now that it is in paperback I’ll give it a try. But I’m concerned that it will make me dislike Atticus!

6. Madeline

Who doesn’t want to know more about Madeline?! I loved these rhyming books, and strongly believe there should be more books written in rhyme for adults!

7. Mimus

I absolutely loved this book about a prince who was tricked into coming to his enemy’s court, and then had to live with the jester. Lilli Thal was a genius with this book, and I’d love to see how all of the characters fare later in life!

8. Charlie Bucket

I have always wanted to know more about Charlie Bucket, and how he handles the chocolate factory after Willy Wonka. I wasn’t a fan of Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator though….

9. Pippi Longstocking

This girl was totally and utterly nuts! What does someone with a completely unconventional childhood become in adulthood? I really hope she is a pirate sailing the seven seas and distributing sweets and gold to children everywhere!

10. Artemis Fowl

I never actually finished the series, so who knows? We might have seen him grow up! Artemis was such a pretentious, smart kid, that I would love to see him as an adult!

Which childhood favourites would you like to see as adults?

Leave a Reply

