Stacking the Shelves #16

Stacking the Shelves #16

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

StackingtheShelves

This week (Sunday 15th May-Saturday 21st May) I went a little bit overboard…. I think I might have to ban books for June as well, seeing as I have had zero success so far this month! I ended up with an incredible 17 books this week! EEK!!!

Bought:IMG_5317

  • The Unexpected Everything – Morgan Matson

I don’t really know anything about this book! It came in my YA Chronicles box. Judging from the other items – a gorgeous Fairy Bread candle, a bath bomb, and a very cheery bookmark – it’s going to be a very happy, relaxed read. Can’t wait to get stuck into it! Though it will have to wait until I have the time to chill out!

  • The Stolen White Elephant – Mark Twain
  • The Death of Ivan Ilyich – Leo Tolstoy
  • To Be Read at Dusk – Charles Dickens
  • Hannibal – Livy
  • The Sea Raiders – H.G. Wells
  • The World is Full of Foolish Men – Jean de la Fontaine
  • The Body Politic – Jean-Jacques Rousseau
  • Lady Susan – Jane Austen
  • Tyger, Tyger – William Blake
  • Green Tea – Sheridan Le Fanu

I collected all of the Little Black Classics at the end of last year/beginning of this year. Penguin recently released 46 more, and I’m a total sucker and needed them! I plan to buy the next 36 a little more slowly…

  • Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell – Susanna Clarke

I have been meaning to read this book for YEARS, but I only bought it the other day when I saw it on sale for $10! It was too good to resist… (I have hopeless self-control!)

  • Histories 1 – Tacitus (Edited by Cynthia Damon)

This is one of my textbooks for next semester. Normally I wouldn’t include them in my Stacking the Shelves purchases, but I am so excited for my Latin class that I’ll be reading this before I actually have to!

Borrowed:

  • Salt Creek – Lucy Treloar

It took quite a while for my library to get this book in! I was pretty desperate to read it after it won the Indie Book Award for Debut Fiction. I’ve heard really good things – to read this week!

FullSizeRender

ARCs:

  • Nightfall – Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski

So I actually won this from Allen & Unwin during the week! I have wanted to read it for a little while now, and I am incredibly excited to have one in my possession without purchasing it on a whim!

  • Charlie and the War against the Grannies – Alan Brough

A July release by Alan Brough, one of the team leaders from Spicks and Specks. It looks hysterically funny and will be a great addition to the kids’ section of any bookshop!

  • The Gift of the Gab – David Crystal

I LOOOOVVEEDD David Crystal’s last book, Making a Point, so I leapt at the opportunity to read his new book on eloquence. While it was an easy read, and relatively enjoyable, it had nothing on the last one. I did learn a few interesting facts, but it turns out I’m just not as interested in speech-making as I am in punctuation!

  • Truly Madly Guilty – Liane Moriarty

Big Little Lies has given me incredibly high expectations for the new Liane Moriarty story! I am incredibly excited to be among the first to get my hands on it and I can only hope it is half as good as her previous book! Fingers crossed!!!!!

What did you add to your shelves this week?

Leave a Reply

