Top Ten Summer Reads – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Summer Reads – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

toptentuesday

I was considering switching this week’s theme to winter reads, but it has been so cold, I need a little bit of summer in my life! And then I got the wonderful YA Chronicles box, themed ‘Summer Daze Driftin’ Away’, and I was INSPIRED!

1. Summer Skin – Kirsty Eagar

It’s in the title – how can this not be a summer read? It is a really real representation of university/college life, and it is just so HOT – absolutely perfect summer reading! Kirsty Eagar is a genius!

2. The Unexpected Everything – Morgan Matson

This was the YA Chronicles book! It’s about Andie, a girl who has her whole life (and summer) planned out. Only it doesn’t pan out as she intended. Rather than a fabulous medical internship, she has to walk dogs. And I’m pretty sure that there will be a romance – only hoping I can stomach this one!

3. Big Little Lies – Liane Moriarty

After this book came out, I recommended it to everyone as a perfect beach read. Easily digestible, it’s a book that keeps you guessing the whole way through! I hope her next book is as good – it can be next summer’s read!

4. I Kill the Mockingbird – Paul Acampora

This book is about a group of kids on their summer break who decide to create a discussion around their assigned reading – To Kill a Mockingbird. It is perfection! It made me nostalgic for the kind of small-town American summer I have never experienced, but have read about since childhood!

5. Summer Days, Summer Nights – Stephanie Perkins

I absolutely adored the last collection edited by Stephanie Perkins, My True Love Gave to Me. I read that one at Christmas, and can’t wait for the new collection of short stories!! I like romance when it comes in tiny bite-sized stories! I’m pretty sure my sister will fight me for this book!

6. I Am Pilgrim – Terry Hayes

The most addictive and compelling spy novel I have ever heard of. It has a little bit of everything! I loved that it moved the spy trope into the modern day, using bio-terrorism as the feared form of attack!

7. When We Collided – Emery Lord

An incredibly cute, quirky love story about a grieving boy and an hyperactive girl. Both are imperfect, but their tiny little summer romance is wonderful, and it helps both parties work through their issues.

8. The Happiness Project – Gretchen Rubin

We generally have a little bit more time for reading during the summer (or you might even get a break during winter)! It’s the perfect time to overhaul your life, and using Gretchen Rubin’s wonderful book, inject a little bit more happiness into the everyday.

9. The Martian – Andy Weir

Summer’s hot, so it’ll be a bit easier to imagine yourself stuck on Mars with Mark Watney. The book is incredibly funny, and its chapters are short – perfect to dip back into after a swim in the ocean. That is, if you can bring yourself to put it down first!

10. The Dry – Jane Harper

The Book of the Year 2016, according to PanMacmillan – it very well could be. With one of the best opening lines of any book I’ve ever read, the book had me hooked almost immediately. When I wasn’t immersed in the story, I couldn’t stop thinking and wondering who in the small town of Kiewarra might have been a murderer.

What are your recommended summer reads?

Leave a Reply

