Stacking the Shelves #17

Stacking the Shelves #17

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

StackingtheShelves

NOTE: May is not a good time to instigate a book-ban, because there are way too many exciting things in the making!

There were WAAAAYYY too many books accumulated this week (Sunday 22nd May – Saturday 28th May) – I’m too afraid to count them! But they all look fantastic, and they’ll keep me very busy over my winter break!

Bought:

  • Front Lines – Michael Grant

I was going to the fantasy panel at TeenCon, and needed to have at least started one of his books! I do not regret this purchase AT ALL! This book was phenomenal, and I am so glad I was coerced into buying it!

  • O frabjous day! – Lewis Carroll
  • Lot No. 249 – Arthur Conan Doyle
  • My life had stood a loaded gun – Emily Dickinson
  • Anecdotes of the Cynics – Anon
  • The Suffragettes – Various
  • Only Dull People Are Brilliant at Breakfast – Oscar Wilde
  • A Nervous Breakdown – Anton Chekhov
  • Love that moves the sun and other stars – Dante
  • Is this a dagger which I see before me? – William Shakespeare
  • Daphnis and Chloe – Longus

More little black classics! I have been reading ones I purchased previously and they are just so brilliant! I’m surprised at how much I’m enjoying the poetry!

IMG_5375

Borrowed:

  • The Girl from Everywhere – Heidi Heilig

This book is about time travel, and it has honestly trumped all other time travel books I’ve read, including Passenger. The characters can only travel to a particular time and place if they have a map of that time and place. It’s such a FASCINATING idea, and I loved every moment!

  • When My Heart Was Wicked – Tricia Stirling

It’s pretty old now, but I absolutely love this cover, and the story sounds highly intriguing!

  • Nevernight – Jay Kristoff

I borrowed the ARC from a colleague, and then Harper sent me one! Yay! (My version is prettier!)

ARCs:

  • Remade – Alex Scarrow
  • Wolf Hollow – Lauren Wolk
  • Yong: The Journey of an Unworthy Son – Janeen Brian
  • Girl Out of Water – Nat Luurtsema
  • We Are All Made of Molecules – Susan Nielsen
  • The Moonlight Dreamers – Siobhan Curham
  • Breathing Under Water – Sophie Hardcastle

All of these ones are from work! It’s been a very busy few weeks, and I only hope I can keep up with all of the books sliding across my desk! I’m excited about them all!

  • Nevernight – Jay Kristoff
  • The Malice – Peter Newman

HarperCollins were wonderful and sent me these two books which I have been absolutely coveting! Don’t their covers look awesome (in the image above)? I loved Peter Newman’s The Vagrant and this is the sequel – I’m interested to see where it goes, as the first one could have been a standalone!

IMG_5342

TeenCon:

  • Zeroes – Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan & Deborah Biancotti (x4)
  • The Bone Season – Samantha Shannon (x3)
  • Demon Road – Derek Landy (x2)
  • Raelia – Lynette Noni (x2)
  • Threader – Rebekah Turner (x2)
  • The Ghostfaces – John Flanagan
  • The Other Side of Summer – Emily Gale
  • The Next Together – Lauren James
  • Inbetween Days – Vikki Wakefield
  • The Special Ones – Em Bailey
  • Bro – Helen Chebatte
  • Penguin Teen Australia Super-Proof 2016
  • Caraval – Stephanie Garber

I won my copy of Caraval but the rest of the books came in the TeenCon Swag Bag! I ended up with multiples of certain books, because some people were going to leave them behind and I couldn’t leave them there! Abandoned books hurt my soul!

What books did you add to your shelves this week?

3 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves #17

  1. What a fantastic haul Em! It was so much fun seeing you at Teencon, we must do this again soon! Great haul, those ARCs of Nevernight are beautiful. I actually had to leave a lot of my books behind cos I had doubles and couldn’t take them back on the flight!

      1. Hi Jeann! I had a fantastic time and definitely got a brilliant haul! And yes, there are so many Emilys in the blogging world – it’s easy to mix us up! 😋😋

Leave a Reply

