Ten Books I’ve Changed My Mind About – Top Ten Tuesday

Ten Books I’ve Changed My Mind About – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

toptentuesday

I actually screwed up last week and did the Top Ten Summer Reads prompt a week early! I missed Ten Books I’ve Changed My Mind About! So I’m doing it this week! I often change my mind about books after I’ve spoken to a friend, or after reading someone else’s review. Preparing for this week, I realised that this happens a lot more than I realised!

MORE LOVE!!!

1. The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern

I didn’t think it was possible, but I love this book more with every passing day. I pick up every book which compares itself to The Night Circus, and even though I like them, nothing has yet been anywhere near as good!

2.  Spark -Rachael Craw

I was probably a little bit harsh on  Spark when I reviewed. I have a lot of problems with the series, and they do persist, but overall I do really enjoy them and am desperate to discover what happens next! Especially after the shock ending to Stray. So this series has definitely improved in my esteem despite my initial response. Plus, their covers kind of make up for some of their deficiencies!

3. The Eyre Affair – Jasper Fforde

I read this first when I was in about Year Seven, and when I saw it a few years ago I bought myself a copy. Having finally reread it only recently, I have realised just how much I missed on that first reading! It is absolutely hysterical and I’ve kept going with the rest of the series!

4. Lifespan of Starlight – Thalia Kalkipsakis

I loved this book for its incredibly unique take on time travel – plus it was based in Australia! I still don’t like the cover, but the story is just EPIC! The second book, Split Infinity, has just come out and I need to get my hands on it; one of my top priorities for June!

5. Thelma the Unicorn – Aaron Blabey

It’s a picture book, and I sort of feel like I am cheating. But Thelma the Unicorn is the absolute greatest children’s book I have ever seen. Thelma is a little horse who dreams of being a unicorn; but it isn’t quite how she envisioned it and she discovers that being herself is better! It rhymes and every time I read it I feel gushy and happy! Plus, my copy is now SIGNED!

Image-1

LESS LOVE!!!

6. A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

I initially rated this book quite highly, but after only a week I realised I had been misguided, and blinded by my overwhelming love for Sarah’s Throne of Glass series. My opinion of this book went down pretty quickly. The series has been redeemed by A Court of Mist and Fury however; it is so HOT!

7. Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard

In November, I used Victoria Aveyard in a Top Ten Tuesday about debut authors I wanted to write faster. Aaaaannnnddd, I never bought Glass Sword; I have no desire to read this second book, and that tells me a lot now about my actual feelings for Red Queen.

8. Divergent – Veronica Roth

While I am in the minority in saying I really liked how Veronica Roth finished off this series, I would no longer call myself a fan or even recommend the books. It was original, and fantastic in its time, but it has now been surpassed by better examples of dystopia.

9. Twilight – Stephanie Meyer

I am almost embarrassed to admit it, but I LOVED this series when I was in Year Nine. My friends and I were all totally addicted. We came to our senses just before the fourth book came out. However, I do recognise how good this series was at bringing reluctant female readers into the fray, and I can appreciate it for creating more readers. But I’m still completely embarrassed that I ever called myself a fan.

10. Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton

I liked the world-building and the story concept in the moment, but looking back it was just sooooooo slow. I don’t know if I can bring myself to read the next books in the series…. I still absolutely adore the pretty cover though!

9780571325252

Do you ever change your mind about books? What are some examples?

Leave a Reply

