May Wrap-Up

May Wrap-Up

IMG_539230 proper books this month – I also read quite a few Little Black Classics though I didn’t count them in that figure! I finally got back on track with the blogging as well – I did have to reduce the number of posts I did a week, but I’m hoping to increase it again during June, since I’ll have a little bit more time without uni! The most popular posts for this month were The Dry, and Stacking the Shelves #17 which listed my TeenCon2016 haul!

I went to a few events this month – TeenCon2016 (which was AMAZING!) and a book launch for Circle by Jeannie Baker. It is the most beautiful picture book! The event was held at the Maritime Museum, and it was soooooo cool! An exhibition including all the collages Jeannie Baker created for the book is showing at the museum – it’s amazing how tiny and intricate everything is; the Instagram post below is just one of these amazing collages!

Highlights this month included The Girl from Everywhere – it’s a time travel story that knocks Passenger right off its perch; I hope to review it sometime very soon! I also absolutely 100% adored Nevernight by Jay Kristoff – I had no idea what to expect, but it was better than I could ever have imagined! Review for that will come closer to the release date. Plus, the ARC is officially one of the most beautiful books on my shelf, so be prepared for many photos! Salt Creek by Lucy Treloar was fantastic – I’m hoping she wins the Miles Franklin, though the whole shortlist is fantastic! Forgetting Foster was another firm favourite, about a little boy whose father develops Alzheimer’s – it’s devastating but informative.

I really loved getting into the Little Black Classics as well – I’ve been enjoying the little tastes they offer of bigger works. I focused on Ancient Roman/Greek authors this month – I’ve been missing my Latin classes! I also really liked getting into some poetry – I have a newfound love for Emily Dickinson!

IMG_5406I was disappointed with To Hold the Bridge – it won a 2015 Aurealis Award so I thought I’d give it a try. I didn’t like Sabriel though, so I’m not sure why I was expecting anything different from this! I also wasn’t a fan of Cleopatra’s Shadows – I thought it would actually be about Cleopatra, but it was about her younger sister – it was an interesting idea and had it been executed well, I would have enjoyed it a lot more. It did inspire me to read Antigone though, and I really liked that!

I’ve decided that for the month of June (and beyond, if it appears to be working), I will do a weekly wrap-up instead of a monthly wrap-up. I just read way too many books, and I’d like to be able to talk about them all a little bit more in the wrap-up! I’m not yet sure if I want to combine my weekly Stacking the Shelves post with this wrap-up… Comment what you think would work best below!

The River and the Book – Alison Croggon (Australian author)
Rebel – Amy Tintera
The Art of Belonging – Hugh Mackay (Australian author)
The Wild Girl – Kate Forsyth (Australian author)
The Crown – Kiera Cass
Red Abbey Chronicles: Maresi – Maria Turtschaninoff
To Hold the Bridge – Garth Nix (Australian author)
The Family With Two Front Doors – Anna Ciddor (Australian author)
The Well of Lost Plots – Jasper Fforde
Dreaming the Enemy – David Metzenthen (Australian author)
Riverkeep – Martin Stewart
Auggie & Me: Three Wonder Stories – R. J. Palacio
Ruined – Amy Tintera
Cleopatra’s Shadows – Emily Holleman
Forgetting Foster – Diane Touchell (Australian author)
Game Theory – Barry Jonsberg (Australian author)
Vanishing Girls – Lauren Oliver
Fire Boy – Sami Shah (Australian author)
The Thing About Jellyfish – Ali Benjamin
The Gift of the Gab: How Eloquence Works – David Crystal
When Michael Met Mina – Randa Abdel-Fattah (Australian author)
Life After Life – Kate Atkinson
Front Lines – Michael Grant
Salt Creek – Lucy Treloar (Australian author)
Charlie and the War Against the Grannies – Alan Brough (Australian author)
The Girl from Everywhere – Heidi Heilig
Nevernight – Jay Kristoff (Australian author)
Remade – Alex Scarrow
Black Rock White City – A. S. Patrić
Breathing Under Water – Sophie Hardcastle

FullSizeRender

The Fall of Icarus – Ovid (Little Black Classic #73)
My life had stood a loaded gun – Emily Dickinson (Little Black Classic #114)
The Dolphins, the Whales and the Gudgeon – Aesop (Little Black Classic #61)
Caligula – Suetonius (Little Black Classic #17)
O Cruel Alexis – Virgil (Little Black Classic #76)
I Hate and I Love – Catullus (Little Black Classic #69)
O frabjous day! – Lewis Carroll (Little Black Classic #106)
Jason and Medea – Apollonius of Rhodes (Little Black Classic #18)
Come Close – Sappho (Little Black Classic #74)
Antigone -Sophocles (Little Black Classic #55)
Hannibal – Livy (Little Black Classic #85)
Well, they are gone, and here must I remain – Samuel Taylor Coleridge (Little Black Classic #35)
The Madness of Cambyses – Herodotus (Little Black Classic #78)
Circe and the Cyclops – Homer (Little Black Classic #70)
The Robber Bridegroom – Brothers Grimm (Little Black Classic #68)
Goblin Market – Christina Rossetti (Little Black Classic #53)

What did you read this month? What were the highlights/lowlights?

Leave a Reply

