Stacking the Shelves #19

Stacking the Shelves #19

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

StackingtheShelves

I failed miserably for my attempted book buying ban in May. I know perfectly well that it isn’t going to work for June or July – there are too many awesome mid-year releases! If I plan it right, I might try and ban books for the month of August, but I will allow myself TWO releases I cannot live without. Do you think I’ll have any more luck there?

A total of twelve new books this week! I have read four, with plans to get through another two tomorrow! (Which may not happen, as I am supposed to be studying for exams…)

Bought:

  • A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

I had to wait a while to get the illustrated edition, but I am so glad I did! The illustrations are done by Jim Kay, who also did the Illustrated Harry Potter! The story is divine, and the pictures just add immense value. Devastating but also wonderful. A film is coming out soon, and the trailer (below) looks INCREDIBLE!

  • A Gathering of Shadows – V. E. Schwab

It’s the sequel to A Darker Shade of Magic, a new fantasy series which I really enjoyed. However, I have since read a review calling it boring, saying that it is only really setting up for book three and not contributing very much in terms of plot. I’ll still be persevering, but it might be a while before I pick it up…

  • Nonsense – Edward Lear
  • The Withered Arm – Thomas Hardy
  • A terrible beauty is born – W. B. Yeats

More Little Black Classics! I’m almost done collecting them – two more weeks, and I definitely will be! These posts have been so useful in ensuring that I don’t double up!

ARCs:

  • For the Most Beautiful – Emily Hauser

This was at work looking neglected, so I picked it up. I love everything to do with Ancient Greece and Rome, so was intrigued by this tale of the women of Troy. Can’t wait to get stuck into it!

  • Dragonfly Song – Wendy Orr

The lovely folk at Allen & Unwin sent me my very own copy of this marvellous book! It is so interesting, based on an island which must pay tribute to Ancient Crete. It involves bullfighting, and a hint of magic. I really liked that it was written partly in poetry!

  • The Road to Winter – Mark Smith

I got this as a PDF format to read before meeting Mark on Wednesday. I had best get onto it quicksmart!!!

FullSizeRender

Borrowed:

  • The Outliers – Kimberley McCreight

I heard about this at TeenCon, so I was very pleased that the local library had a copy!

  • All the Feels – Danika Stone

It’s about fangirls! I need to read it! Thankfully, my lovely colleague let me pinch it off her desk over the weekend!

  • Everyone Brave is Forgiven – Chris Cleave

The first line is impeccable: ‘War was declared at 11.15 and Mary North signed up at noon’. I already loved Mary from that first mention of her name. I have finished the book, and I loved almost every second. A brilliant addition to historical fiction.

  • Toby Alone – Timothée de Fombelle

One of my wonderful customers at the bookshop brought her own copy in for me to borrow! She and I had such a great chat about how fantastic kids’ books were, and she insisted that this was one I absolutely had to read! I’ll get to it very soon!

What books did you add to your shelves this week? What do you think of my selections?

 

Leave a Reply

