Weekly Recap June 2016 #4

Weekly Recap June 2016 #4

FullSizeRenderI’ve had a great reading week – getting back into the swing of things now that my exams are OVER! Only one more semester, and I’ll be finished with my entire degree! While I’ve been up-to-speed with the reading again, I’m not doing so well on the blogging front…. Time to get serious; the books I need to review are piling up, and their publication dates are very close!

Coraline – Neil Gaiman (4 stars)

I haven’t had the greatest success with Neil Gaiman’s adult fiction. I tried a collection of his short stories, and American Gods. Neither really grasped me. However, someone recommended that I try his children’s fiction. I’m glad I gave him another chance! Coraline was gorgeously creepy! And Chris Riddell’s illustrations were fantastic! I’m tempted to watch the movie now – even though I have been told that it is terrifying (and I don’t do scary very well…)!

Mort – Terry Pratchett (5 stars)

I need all of the Pratchett books now. This book was so wonderfully satirical. So witty. So funny. Mort is apprenticed to Death, which makes for some truly fantastic scenes and moments. When I have read a second Pratchett, I will do a proper review!

We Are All Made of Molecules – Susin Nielsen (3 stars)

This book had teenage themes, but read like middle-grade fiction. It was interesting, and fast, but it didn’t grip me. It was told from two perspectives – nerdy Stewart, and disillusioned teenager Ashley. Nielsen turned Ashley into a bit of a stereotype – a girl totally disinterested in school, and absorbed in what her magazines tell her. I also felt like there were a few too many storylines going on….

The Malice – Peter Newman (5 stars)

Going back through my reviews, I am horrified that I only gave The Vagrant three stars! What was I thinking?! I remember that book as fantastic – it just goes to show that we can’t trust memory! However, I adored being back in this world – Newman writes lyrically – you absolutely get swept up. And his characters are always on point – I am so happy that there was another goat! And Vesper, the protagonist, is absolutely fascinating – she is so young, and it is highly intriguing to see this dystopian wasteland through her eyes. Truly wonderful. Disregard my previous review of this series – it is wonderful.

FullSizeRender 2

The Moonlight Dreamers – Siobhan Curham (4 stars)

This story has been likened to The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants. I liked it better. It’s the tale of four teenagers who don’t quite fit into their lives. Obsessed with Oscar Wilde, Amber takes one of his quotes to heart and starts a society with fellow misfits. The girls help each other to work through their issues, and to plan for their future goals. It’s fairly innocent, and very sweet.

A dreamer is one who can only find his way by moonlight, and his punishment is that he sees the dawn before the rest of the world.

Nightfall – Jake Halpern (4 stars)

This book was really weird and creepy – I loved it! Sunset comes every twenty-eight years on the island in which this book is set. The villagers leave the island when the sun disappears, undertaking strange rituals before they do. Locks must be taken off doors, tables must be set, and all trace of human scent must be covered over. No one will tell Marin WHY they do these things. When her friend, Line, goes missing shortly before the ships depart, she and her twin, Kane, go searching for him. And they are left behind. Horrifying monsters rule the island, and are determined to wipe the humans from their home. It was just the right amount of eerie, with a perfect dash of adrenaline.

FullSizeRender 3Another Night in Mullet Town – Steven Herrick (4 stars) (Australian author)

This novel is written in verse. It’s the story of two boys, Jonah and Manx. It’s a love poem to their lakeside town, which is at risk of being sold off to developers.

The boys are typical teenagers – working up the courage to chat to Ella and Rachel, fishing for mullet at the lake, and just bumming around in general.

They don’t really talk about their problems, but the boys have an innate understanding of each other. Their friendship was truly wonderful, and made this book so fantastic. This story also reaffirmed my love of verse novels – the flow and rhythm of the language really makes you stop to consider the message, rather than racing through.

What did you read this week?

Leave a Reply

