Weekly Recap July 2016 #3

Weekly Recap July 2016 #3

I fell into a little bit of a reading slump this week (18th – 24th July). Only four books, though most were four-star reads. Before I Go had me crying my eyes out on public transport – it made me so sad that I couldn’t bring myself to read for two whole days!

The Square Root of Summer – Harriet Reuter Hapgood (3 stars)

This book kept catching my eye in bookstores, but I am very glad I didn’t actually purchase it. I’m still not entirely sure what it was about. Gottie is a brilliant physics student. And then the fabric of the universe begins to fray around her, creating wormholes to her past. It could have been very interesting, and Hapgood almost created a good reason for time travel, but then she backtracked and any credibility her theories had fell to pieces. It was a good read, but it didn’t make it to great…

Before I Go – Colleen Oakley (4 stars)

This book had me bawling my eyes out on the train. DO NOT READ ON PUBLIC TRANSPORT! It’s about Daisy, a young woman with terminal cancer. Her life is meant to be getting underway, not ending. She is panicked that her husband Jack won’t be able to look out for himself, and decides to find him a wife, and fix up all the little things she won’t be around to nag him about. Holy mackerel – this book definitely hit me in the feels. I know it would, but it was worse and better than I expected. A gorgeous story, and it’s only four stars because contemporary fiction in general just isn’t my favourite.

IMG_5996Spontaneous – Aaron Starmer (4 stars)

It’s a book about growing up, and blowing up. Mara Carlyle is in the middle of the Covington Curse – her senior year is spontaneously combusting, one at a time. There are many theories as to why this is happening, but none really seem to match. Mara has a very dark sense of humour as she narrates the end of the world as she knows it. Nothing and nobody is safe in this book about teenagers blowing up. Somehow it manages to be one of the funniest and most insightful books I’ve read this year. Can’t wait to review it a bit closer to its publication date.

A Corner of White – Jaclyn Moriarty (Australian author) (4 stars)

CornerWhiteMy colleague has been begging me to read this book for AGES! She kept telling me how beautiful it was, and I can’t believe I waited so long to trust her! Jaclyn Moriarty has created such a lovely world – she has an incredible imagination. In the Kingdom of Cello, Colours can be dangerous; they appear as a sort of storm system and foster different emotions in the people. There is a crack between Cello and reality, appearing as a small slit in Oxford, England. Madeleine happens upon the crack and begins writing to Elliot in Cello. There are problems to overcome in both worlds, and the friendship that grows is gorgeous! Can’t wait to dig into the next two books.

What have you been reading?

Leave a Reply

