Stacking the Shelves #22

Stacking the Shelves #22

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

StackingtheShelves

I’m playing catch-up! So we get one ENORMOUS Stacking the Shelves encompassing the entire month of July (excluding Harry Potter and the Cursed Child which comes out TOMORROW!) – and the last week of June! There are A LOT more books there than I thought I had accumulated… Oops! Find any of them for yourself at Booktopia!

Bought:

  • Notes on an Exodus – Richard Flanagan and Ben Quilty (Australian author)

It’s tiny, yet I STILL haven’t read it…. It’s a limited edition book, about the exodus of refugees from Greece, Lebanon and Serbia. The proceeds from the book go to World Vision.

  • Love from Boy – edited by Donald Sturrock

I’m obsessed with Roald Dahl – need I say more?

  • Lily and the Octopus – Steven Rowley

This book had rave reviews. It was a bit confusing, but very sweet – I loved how truthfully it portrayed how much we grow to love our pets.

  • The Wheel of Osheim – Mark Lawrence
  • The Uncommon Reader – Alan Bennett (second-hand)
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – J K Rowling (second-hand)

I bought this (with its nice, original cover) for a friend’s birthday. It isn’t until November so I get to hang onto it for a little while longer!

  • The Girl of Ink and Stars

The interior images are just divine – haven’t read it yet, but I couldn’t bring myself to leave it in the bookshop!

  • The Rose and the Dagger – Renee Ahdieh
  • Nevernight – Jay Kristoff (Australian author)

I bought this at the launch party, which was SUPER exciting; I had SO MUCH FUN! It’s my THIRD copy – I have two ARCs, but Jay told me that it has been changed pretty significantly, so I have started re-reading it; a finished copy this time!

Won:

  • Shrill – Lindy West

Can’t wait to get stuck into this one! I won it from Hachette in an Instagram competition. It sounds amazing – Lindy West is fascinating.

Subscription Boxes:

  • You Know Me Well – Nina LaCour & David Levithan (YA Chronicles: Pride Week)
  • And I Darken – Kiersten White (YA Chronicles – July: Ladies Who Slay)
  • All The Birds In The Sky – Charlie Jane Anders (The Dragon’s Hoard – June: Bibliophiles Unite!)
  • Karen Memory – Elizabeth Bear (The Dragon’s Hoard – July: Wild Wild West)

I love all of my subscription boxes – mostly just because I love mail! Happy with all books except for Karen Memory – I’ve never heard of it, and western steampunk doesn’t appeal to me very much…

 

Borrowed (Library):

  • Green Valentine – Lili Wilkinson (Australian author)
  • Fairytales for Wilde Girls – Allyse Near (Australian author)
  • The 13-Storey Treehouse – Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton (Australian author)
  • The Square Root of Summer – Harriet Reuter Hapgood
  • The Things I Didn’t Say – Kylie Fornasier (Australian author)
  • The Memory Artist – Katherine Brabon (Australian author)
  • Before I Go – Colleen Oakley

Borrowed lots of books from the library this month – two trips! I had to return The Memory Artist before I finished it, but I’m not too upset about that.

Borrowed (Friends):

  • The Leaving – Tara Altebrando
  • A Corner of White – Jaclyn Moriarty (Australian author)
  • Wildwood Dancing – Juliet Marillier
  • Cybele’s Secret – Juliet Marillier
  • The Shadow Queen – C. J. Redwine

The Juliet Marillier books were thrust onto me by a very enthusiastic friend who insists that I must read them. They look good! The other books I borrowed off my colleague – enjoyed all three.

ARCs:

  • Tracy Lacy is Completely Coo-Coo Bananas – Tania Lacy (Australian author)
  • Stealing Snow – Danielle Paige
  • The Easy Way Out – Steven Amsterdam (Australian author)
  • Marge in Charge – Isla Fisher (Australian author)
  • Promising Azra – Helen Thurloe (Australian author)
  • The Windy Season – Sam Carmody
  • The Boundless Sublime – Lili Wilkinson (Australian author)
  • This Savage Song – V. E. Schwab
  • The Crooked Sixpence – Jennifer Bell
  • Nothing Tastes as Good – Claire Hennessy
  • Spontaneous – Aaron Harmer
  • Words in Deep Blue – Cath Crowley (Australian author)
  • The Hate Race – Maxine Beneba Clarke (Australian author)
  • The Memory Book – Lara Avery
  • Gilded Cage – Vic James
  • Princess Parsley – Pamela Rushby (Australian author)
  • Holding Up the Universe – Jennifer Niven

A lot of ARCs this month – most of them came through work, though I did get some FANTASTIC books from Allen & Unwin which arrived on a sick day – it felt like a care package!

What did you get in July? Are you excited about Harry Potter and the Cursed Child?

Leave a Reply

