Weekly Recap August 2016 #2

Weekly Recap August 2016 #2

A very very weak reading week! ONLY TWO BOOKS! How did this happen? Well, sadly I realised that I needed to knuckle down and get more homework done for my uni classes. I only have nine weeks left for my WHOLE DEGREE, so I had best pay attention and pass everything! Find these books and more for yourself at Booktopia!

Wildwood Dancing – Juliet Marillier (Australian author) (3 stars)

This book was a friend’s favourite, and she really wanted me to read it. I liked it a lot – it was set in Transylvania, and five sisters traverse into another world, a magical world, every full moon. Parts were a bit predictable, but overall it was a good story. It did drag quite a lot though, and Marillier placed a lot of emphasis on how intelligent and unique her characters were – I like my characters to be flawed! Jena, the protagonist, has a temper, but it didn’t detract from her perfection enough! Also, she had a pet frog, but that was kind of awesome.

Heartless – Marissa Meyer (4 stars)

Sadly, I did not receive the above ARC, which is GORGEOUS, but the one I read is much, much less photogenic. I really liked this book, though while I was reading it I was incredibly concerned how they would turn lovely, sweet Cath into the horrid Queen of Hearts. But, nobody else should worry about this – Meyer does it exceptionally! Cath was a fantastic character – she is a noblewoman and is expected to marry well, but she just wants to open a bakery with her best friend. Cath loves baking, and she excels at it. She is just a young girl trying to balance her dreams for herself with her parents’ wishes.

At a royal ball, Cath meets Jest, the mysterious court joker. She is drawn to him, and his ways. I personally liked his companion, a very gloomy raven, who regularly quotes Edgar Allen’s Poe’s poem, The Raven. It was a very fun allusion, as were the continual attempts to answer the question: ‘How is a raven like a writing desk?’ Full review to come closer to release date (in November!).

What did you read this week? Do you like villain backstories?

 

Leave a Reply

