Stacking the Shelves #24

Stacking the Shelves #24

WOAH! This week (2nd September – 10th September) was INCREDIBLE! I got to meet the amazing Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan, and I got A LOT of new books. Yay and yay! (Maaaayyyyy have spent too much money – but that is what it’s for, right?)

Bought:

  • Landline – Rainbow Rowell

The only Rainbow book I don’t own, and haven’t read. OF COURSE I HAD TO BUY IT FOR SIGNING!

  • Two Boys Kissing – David Levithan
  • Boy Meets Boy – David Levithan

I have only read two David Levithan books, but after seeing him live I NEED THEM ALL! So, I started by purchasing these ones, though I’m sure I’ll be stocking up on his other books very soon.

  • The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet – Becky Chambers
  • Changers: Drew – T. Cooper & Allison Glock-Cooper

I own both of these books as ARCs, but I loved them so much that I needed real copies!!!

  • Changers: Oryon – T. Cooper & Allison Glock-Cooper

This is the sequel to Changers: Drew – the third book comes out in November and I want to get all caught up!

Free:

  • #SaveOzStories

This is an unbelievable collection of essays by Australian authors explaining why our copyright laws and parallel importation restrictions are so important for the Australian book industry. I learned a lot, and am even more inspired to fight to retain our strong Australian literary culture.

Borrowed:

  • Gemina – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

A colleague/friend won an ARC of this book at #YAFanFest, and she was amazing and agreed to lend it to everyone in the office. Below is the video showing us all fighting for dominance! 😛

Gift:

The wonderful YA Chronicles girls gave me one of their leftover January boxes when I lamented that I had missed out! They are absolutely incredible people and every box is just amazing – please go check them out. If you’re interested in trialling a subscription box, I highly recommend this one. I have not yet been disappointed!

ARCs:

  • My Name is Book: An Autobiography – John Agard

I am really excited for this one – it is the history of the book, as told by a book! It looks very sweet and just amazing!

  • The Adventures of Pipi the Pink Monkey – Carlo Collodi

Collodi was also the author of PinocchioPipi the Pink Monkey has not been published in English before – it’s pretty exciting to be discovering a new classic. Can’t wait to get stuck in; plus, the illustrations are by the absolutely brilliant Axel Scheffler.

  • There May Be a Castle – Piers Tordayfullsizerender
  • The Girl Before – J. P. Delaney
  • Ragdoll – Daniel Cole
  • See What I Have Done – Sarah Schmidt

These books all came from Hachette – because of my work, I was invited to attend an event where the publishers told us all about their exciting upcoming titles. And we were given a few samples to take away. Most of them are crime, but they sounded intriguing enough to persuade me outside of my comfort zone!

Buy any of these books from Booktopia!

What books did you add to your shelves this week???

Leave a Reply

