Weekly Recap September 2016 #2

Weekly Recap September 2016 #2

Not a particularly busy reading week (5th September – 11th September). Really I only read three books – I had to hide the fact that I got Empire of Storms a little bit early! But I’m allowed to talk about it now! 😛 All my book choices were excellent, except for The Sun is Also a Star – it just didn’t do it for me… Buy any of these books from Booktopia.

Empire of Storms – Sarah J. Maas (5 stars)

fullsizerenderEmpire of Storms was truly a rollercoaster ride. I laughed, I cried, I seethed in anger. There were so many feelings, and there was A LOT of silent screaming. Elide really comes into her own as a character; she always felt a bit flat to me, but with her freedom comes the opportunity to develop her personality. The pacing of the book is perfect as always, keeping us on our toes, and culminating in an amazing ending which had me simultaneously wanting to fist-pump the air and curl up in a ball with my tears. I have never been so satisfied while also wanting to tear out my hair in frustration. My one complaint is that Chaol didn’t feature anywhere near as much as I wanted him to!! But it was still perfection – is a Maas book ever anything else? 😛

The Just City – Jo Walton (5 stars)

This was an unexpected favourite! In this book, Apollo and Athena decide to create the Just City discussed by Plato in his Socratic dialogue, The Republic. Using time-travel, the gods populate the city with ten thousand children and raise them to be just and perfect citizens. But unexpected problems arise, especially as the children learn enough to question their teachers. And then Sokrates himself arrives and totally throws a spanner in the works. I loved all the philosophical and ethical questions the story raised – this was definitely a book to make you think! I now desperately want to read The Republic! Maybe when I finish my degree…

fullsizerender

The Sun is Also a Star – Nicola Yoon (3 stars)

In this story, two teenagers fall in love in the space of one day. Not being much of a romantic, I was massively cynical and couldn’t bring myself to fall into the story. Natasha is a science geek whose family is being deported to Jamaica; Daniel is being pushed into a career path he doesn’t want to make his Korean parents proud. I liked the structure of the book, flipping between the two perspectives and interspersed with interesting ‘facts’ about other side characters and the universe. However, the romance was ultimately too soppy for me in the end…

Gemina – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (Australian authors) (5 stars)

WOOOOOOOOWWWWWW. That’s about the only thing I can say about the incredible sequel to Illuminae. The ARC doesn’t have the illustrations, which will be created by Marie Lu, but it was still completely amazing! I can’t wait to see the final version, and will write my review when I can photograph it to my heart’s content. 😀

What have you been reading this week?

Leave a Reply

