Weekly Recap October 2016 #1

Weekly Recap October 2016 #1

Eleven books this week! (Although two were Little Black Classics, and another one was super super short, and one of them was a picture book… You know what? I’m taking all eleven anyway!) There were some truly fantastic ones, and there were some that fell flat…

fullsizerenderThe Winner’s Crime – Marie Rutkoski (4 stars)
The Winner’s Kiss – Marie Rutkoski (4 stars)

Tying these two together, because I binge-read them! They were better than I expected – I wasn’t sure how the third one could come back from the shocking end of the second but it did and I was satisfied. Overall, a very good series.

The Star-Touched Queen – Roshani Chokshi (3 stars)

This book sadly wasn’t what I wanted it to be. I only sort of liked the main character, Maya; she was a total idiot at times. I didn’t like the lack of world building – it would have been so cool to know more; it was very very interesting! My favourite character was the love interest – Amar was totally mysterious and powerful; my kind of guy! I also loved Maya’s little sister, Gauri – the second book is all about her, so hopefully it’s a lot better!

Frayed – Kara Terzis (Australian author) (2 stars)

I was wary of this book from the outset. While it is awesome that a 19-year-old Aussie has a book deal from her start on Wattpad, I sadly didn’t like this book at all. Ava’s sister has been murdered, and the police can’t figure out who did it. Ava tries to uncover the truth and realises that her sister wasn’t the person she thought she was. And then the ending was just dreadful – a total cliche and a misunderstanding of mental illness.

The Book of Whispers – Kimberley Starr (Australian author) (4 stars)

This book was so engrossing that I fell down the stairs while reading it. (It’s OK, I wasn’t injured, just embarrassed.) It’s set during one of the Crusades, and Luca, heir to the Conte de Falconi, is determined to participate. Luca sees demons everywhere, attached to everyday objects. And there are more of them accumulating – they seem to have a reason for going to Jerusalem as well. Luca’s family own a special book, but nobody can read it. Then he meets Suzan in the desert – a fateful meeting, because she knows the book’s language. And it’s telling them that they are running out of time. It was a great story, with lots of mystery and really unique magic.

Changers: Oryon – T. Cooper & Allison Glock-Cooper (3 stars)

I thought the first Changers book, Drew, was one of the funniest books I’d read, with a strong message of acceptance. This second book dealt with racism, as Drew becomes Oryon. However, the book focuses less on the minutiae of everyday life as a new person, and develops into an overarching story arc which I don’t like very much. Plus, this one ended on a cliffhanger, and the next book isn’t out until early next year in the Australian cover… 😦 Still a really good read; I really love the message behind these books – accept everyone because you don’t know their inner lives!

Pig the Elf – Aaron Blabey (Australian author) (5 stars)

If you don’t know of Pig the Pug, please rectify that immediately. Pig is an incredibly naughty, greedy dog, and Blabey’s stories about him are just hysterical. They are all in rhyme too which is just fabulous. In this book, Pig isn’t happy with his Christmas loot, and tries to follow Santa – but can Christmas spirit prevail?

Bad Power – Deborah Biancotti (Australian author) (5 stars)

This is a collection of short stories, but they all tie into each other quite nicely. And they’re all about superheroes – some of them are good, some lack any kind of morality. It is fantastic! I haven’t read a bad superhero book yet! Deb is also one of the authors of Zeroes, which is also about superheroes – with shitty powers.

Only Dull People Are Brilliant at Breakfast – Oscar Wilde (5 stars)

A marvellous Little Black Classic. I want to carry this with me everywhere. It’s a collection of Oscar Wilde’s best one-liners. I giggled and giggled and giggled some more. My favourite was:

‘I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read on the train.’

fullsizerenderThe Uncommon Reader – Alan Bennett (4 stars)

I’m pretty sure that I have read this one before, but it was still wonderful even with a sense of deja vu. The Queen has become a reader, and neglects her other duties. This tiny book definitely showcases what can happen when you first discover the wonder of books.

The World is Full of Foolish Men – Jean de La Fontaine (3 stars)

I think something got lost in translation here. The fables were cute and sweet, but the language just felt stilted sadly. I’ll have to look them up in the original French. (And improve my French first!)

What did you get stuck into this week?

Leave a Reply

