Stacking the Shelves #32

Stacking the Shelves #32

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

Soooooo, I went TOTALLY overboard this week (don’t even want to count them all up…). And sadly, with Christmas coming up, I really don’t think I will be able to control myself in the next few weeks either… Oops! Favourite this week is DEFINITELY the Deluxe Illustrated Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – I had to wait A LOT longer than anticipated but it was well worth it; so pretty (also, it looks a bit pink in the photo, but it is actually red)! Check out Booktopia if you want to own any of these yourself!

Special Editions:

  • Deluxe Illustrated Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – J K Rowling and Jim Kay (illustrator)
  • A Monster Calls: Special Collector’s Edition – Patrick Ness and Jim Kay (illustrator)
  • Six of Crows + Crooked Kingdom Boxed Set – Leigh Bardugo
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Slipcased Edition – J K Rowling

fullsizerenderIf you don’t yet know that I am an enormous Harry Potter fan and need all of the editions, then you could probably guess from this week’s haul! Also, the special edition of The Sleeper and the Spindle is completely divine and is a really really reasonable price on Booktopia at the moment, so get yourself one! (Photographs don’t do it justice!) I am sure that my Instagram followers will be seeing many many photos of these in the weeks to come!

YA Fiction:

  • Frogkisser – Garth Nix
  • A Million Worlds With You – Claudia Gray
  • Split Infinity – Thalia Kalkipsakis
  • The Extinction Gambit – Michael Pryor

Frogkisser, I have already read and loved. I will be rereading it in December to write my blog post! A Million Worlds With You is the third book in the Firebird trilogy – they’re about inter-dimensional travel: I love it – read my review of the first book hereSplit Infinity is the sequel to Lifespan of Starlight, an Aussie YA about time travel – cannot wait to FINALLY get stuck into it! And I love Michael Pryor’s Laws of Magic series, so when I saw The Extinction Gambit on sale, I could not resist! Now to find the rest of the series! 😛

Picture Books:

  • Somewhere Else – Gus Gordon
  • A Child of Books – Oliver Jeffers & Sam Winston

Somewhere Else is about a duck called George Laurent who is always too busy to go anywhere. A Child of Books is an amazing story about what books mean to people – escapism, dreams, invention. It is stunning and my top children’s book of the year (and probably all time) – and my edition is SIGNED!

Short Stories:

  • The Complete Short Stories Volume One 1944-1953 – Roald Dahl
  • The Complete Short Stories Volume Two 1954-1988 – Roald Dahl
  • Where the Shoreline Used To Be – Susan La Marca & Pam Macintyre

I studied a short story in high school called Lamb to the Slaughter, about a woman who killed her husband with a leg of lamb and then cooked her weapon and fed it to the police. It was awesome, filled with black humour, and I was astonished to discover that Roald Dahl was the author – the same Roald Dahl who had given me Matilda! I am at last going to read some of his other short stories, and rediscover the fun of Lamb to the SlaughterWhere the Shoreline Used To Be is a collection of short fiction, poetry and song lyrics – I have wanted it since this time last year, and finally caved.

Non-Fiction:

  • True Girt – David Hunt
  • Palimpsest – Matthew Battles
  • Paris Undressed: The Secrets of French Lingerie – Kathryn Kemp-Griffin

A varied selection here! A history of Australia, one of the art of writing, and another of lingerie! Just goes to show my crazy range of interests…

What books did you add to your shelves this week?

One thought on “Stacking the Shelves #32

Leave a Reply

