Stacking the Shelves #33

Stacking the Shelves #33

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

Not too many books this week, but there are A LOT more coming soon – that Christmas order was embarrassingly big! Make sure you check out Booktopia if you want to own any of these yourself!

ARC:

  • Norse Mythology – Neil Gaiman (sampler)

img_6498I attended Gaiman’s GRAPHIC event last Saturday at the Sydney Opera House. It included a screening of Dream Dangerously, a documentary about Gaiman’s last signing tour. And then we had a Q&A with the man himself, streamed from England. Yes, I am now a massive Gaiman fangirl. I ordered so many of his books – the two picture books mentioned below, NeverwhereThe Graveyard Book, and Stardust. (I already own CoralineAmerican Gods and Good Omens.) But the highlight of the event was receiving a special sampler from his new book Norse Mythology, out January! It’s going to be awesome.

Bought:

  • The Four Legendary Kingdoms – Matthew Reilly

Matt Reilly is a genius and he’s on tour in Australia currently! I wanted to read it before I meet him. It is fantastic; just as brilliant as everything else he has ever written – even better maybe – there is an awesome character cameo.

  • The Road to Winter – Mark Smith

While I have read and reviewed The Road to Winter, I didn’t have a physical copy of my own. But then I attended the YABookMeet at Dymocks Sydney; Mark was the guest, so I absolutely had to get myself a signed copy!

  • Odd and the Frost Giants – Neil Gaiman & Chris Riddell (illustrator)
  • Hansel & Gretel – Neil Gaiman & Lorenzo Mattotti (illustrator)

After reading The Sleeper and the Spindle, I needed Neil Gaiman’s other picture books. They’re a bit dark, but also totally wonderful. I think I could now consider myself a Gaiman Fangirl. In the lead-up to the publication of Norse Mythology, I’m thinking about reading as many of his books as I can and blogging about them. The folklore picture books will definitely be first up!

  • Homo Deus – Yuval Noah Harari (Audible audio book)

My Audible subscription tipped over! I’ve had my eye on this one for a while and it is longer than a lot of the other ones on my wish list! I really liked Homo Sapiens and I have discovered that I have a passion for non-fiction, so I’m really excited to see what Yuval Noah Harari says about the future of humankind in this book.

Work:

I have read and reviewed this one, but I’m working on a project related to it; therefore it needs a reread. Hence, the nice portable editon.  🙂

Borrowed:

  • The Surgeon of Crawthorne – Simon Winchester

My Dad borrowed this off a friend, and then told me I had to read it. It does look really interesting – it’s about the compilation of the first Oxford English Dictionary!

What did you add to your shelves this week?

One thought on “Stacking the Shelves #33

  1. I’ve recently added Gemina to my collection and am planning to read it ASAP (though am already anticipating the book hangover afterwards!). A lot of people at work have been talking about Dark Matter by Blake Crouch so I’ve borrowed that from the library as well to scope out the hype. Looks like you’ve got a great haul – The Surgeon of Crawthorne sounds like a good read for word nerds! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

